Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe it was great when supplies are low. I don't usually keep things like yeast laying around in my pantry so for me to have all the ingredient was great. For all those who just have Italian seasoning in your pantry this recipe works fantastic with it. I also just used Veggie oil instead of olive oil and it tasted just as flavorful. This bread recipe is definitely something to keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Typical italian flat bread recipe ! top it with a prepared spinach and mushrooms dip Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Roche Olsen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Perfect. I made this according to the recipe, except to make it vegan, I omitted the cheese and used 1 Tbs of nutritional yeast for the cheesy flavour. I also added 2Tbs of flax seed meal for omega-3 content. Came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Tried this tonight and paired it with a chicken stew I was struggling with. The bread was REALLY spicy. I think next time I'll either make it thicker or bake it for less time. Also, I added mozzarella cheese on top of the parm. Turned out okay. Will probably make again and play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
If you're out of yeast you land here. My first batch was terrible, and heres why: While stirring the dry ingredients into the wet, I never got a dough that would pull away from the bowl, so I kept adding flour. Even while kneading it, I had to add flour. My dough got tough and the baking powder rise ended way too early. Dinner was a dry dog biscuit. On the next attempt,thanks to others comments esp. the daily gourmet, I got the dough into the oven right away without trying to make a dough ball or kneading. Just stir it, dump it, spread it, and bake it. It's very craggy but its great. Very crispy on the outside, very soft inside. I like basil dipping olive oil for the oil in the wet ingredients for flavor. There will be no slicing this bread, just break it off and eat it- in 1/2 hour. Dare me to stir in some crumbled sausage ? Thank you Julia, I've been wanting to make something good for years. In the end, we experimented, then we ate it, and now we'll release our dangerous selves on the world. (I wonder if my hard well water was the problem with the first batch ?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
As a focaccia bread this recipe was a disappointment. It was too thin and crunchy to be served along side soup or any other meal that you would like a soft bread to go with. This recipe would, however, be SUPERB for a flat bread pizza or cheesy flat bread or anything like that. If that's how it was advertised I would have given it 5 stars! Last note - if you make it as is I would suggest cutting the cayanne by at least half - with the amount as is it is quite strong and doesn't complement the meal but instead becomes a feature in and of itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Pretty good if you don't have time for a yeast bread. I loved the topping combination (but only used a dusting of cayenne pepper. Next time I will add a little olive oil to the dough to give it a bit more tenderness and flavor. Given the ease of the recipe, it is bound to be a new spaghetti-night staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now, and I love it! It always turns out with a crispy outer crust and soft and dense inside- which is to be expected with a no yeast recipe (people need to understand this beforehand- it is going to be dense!). I have never had any trouble with the ingredients ratio (the dough is meant to be wet do not add more flour) and have tried several variations including putting olives and feta cheese in the dough itself, all of which were just great. You really can do anything you want with this dough it is fun to experiment with! Personally I find it a little more dense than I'd like, but that is what this is supposed to be and it is so easy and fast to make it certainly deserves 5 stars. Definitely suggest trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I added rosemary and crushed red chili pepper flakes to the bread mix which really added flavor. After 20 minutes of baking, I pulled and added green and red bell pepper flakes with parmesan cheese and chopped shallot to the top with the drizzled olive oil and cooked for 10 more minutes. Eating now with butter and it is excellent. I think adding something to the bread dough gives some flavor after reading all the entries relaying poor taste. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is incredibly quick and easy, and tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States