Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this often! Love it! It's quick and easy, almost as quick as simply ordering a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I left out the honey (since tomato paste already has a sweetness to it and so many reviewers said the honey added made it too sweet), anchovy paste, (didn't have any) and the red and Cayenne peppers (my mom likes nothing the least bit spicy). I did add the Parmesan and also added about a half teaspoon of Franks Red Hot sauce, 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning blend, (it has all the individual herbs in it) minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. My son said it was the best sauce I'd made to date. Just adding the Parmesan and hot sauce made a big difference. I'll have to buy some anchovy paste next time I'm out to the grocery store so I can add that next time too. I won't tell any of my family though or they won't touch it with a 10 foot poll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Feigenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe for the 'keeper' file! With the exception of the anchovy paste, all of the ingredients are in our pantry at all times, so it is a great quick way to make a meal. If you don't care for the slight sweetness, a Tablespoon of the honey could be omitted. Don't forget that the taste will vary depending on which brand of tomato paste is used. Tomato paste, not sauce, and yes, there IS a difference. This recipe made enough sauce to cover a baker's half sheet of crust quite well. At first bite, we realized we would have to find a different crust than we used, one worthy of this sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I use this sauce regularly and love it. The anchovy makes a real difference - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Best pizza sauce thus far. I personalized mine a little but I love the fact I didn't have to cook it over the stove then in the oven with the pizza. Packed with flavor. Also great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love this sauce. Skipped the anchovy paste ( 1-didn't have any, 2-don't like it ). Makes plenty of sauce for two medium sized pizzas. I don't find it overly sweet or spicy as some people have commented. Of course, tastes vary so adjust as necessary for your taste. Have also used the sauce when making pizza for gatherings and everyone really seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is so good. I've made it several times and it's so quick and easy. It's hot, spicy and I love the sweetness (it's not too sweet at all). I use it for pizza and pasta. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
People Raved! It's been two weeks since I made it and a friend asked me about the "Pizza sauce she heard I made". It's fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is the best pizza sauce I've ever tasted and I use it with all my pizzas, calzones, and also use it as a dipping marinara. I skip the honey altogether because I personally don't enjoy any sweetener in my pizza sauce, but otherwise I follow this recipe precisely and have impressed many a dinner guest it. Many reviewers recommend preparing larger batches of the dry ingredients for later use (which is an excellent idea), but I will usually just mix up a quadruple batch of the full recipe and freeze a few portions in small freezer containers to thaw out before making my pizza. Thank you so much for this excellent, unbeatable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great pizza sauce. I didn't have marjoram, but it was still good. I doubled the recipe, but may not quite double the parmesan cheese next time, and will therefore decrease water a bit too. Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States