Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is great! Maybe a bit too sweet, but that may be because I didn't spread it thin enough... Definitely will be a regular on our menu along with the master pizza dough recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
While I liked it more than Easy Pizza Sauce I, it didn't grab me. I had high hopes. 'Started with 1T honey then added one more. 'Think the right amount is in between. 'Nice & thick, & not too tomato paste-y. That was a big surprise. 'Not "the one" for us, but still glad I tried it. Btw, after making both recipes seperately, combined the two & still three star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My go-to pizza sauce recipe. I omit the honey because my kids think it makes the sauce taste funny and I add fresh herbs when I have them. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MChele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a great recipe. With all the negative reviews regarding the sweetness of the sauce I was worried about it. I'm glad I decided to go ahead and make the sauce because It was one of the best that I've made. I didn't have anchovy paste so I just used a pinch of sea salt salt in its place. All the flavors blend it well together. Make sure to use exact amount of ingredients this recipe calls for and please let it simmer for the time allocated. If you do this, it will come out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heavenly Eden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is fantastic. The best I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and agree with the previous reviewer who said he could eat it out of the bowl with a spoon. Next I'll try some fennel seeds but as-is this recipe is amazing. For folks worried about the anchovy paste, don't be. Your sauce won't taste like a can of anchovies smells. It mainly adds salt and savory flavor. You'd never guess there was anchovy paste in there. It all just works. Hey, no guts no glory! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDermott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This pizza sauce is unmistakably sweet, but our family loves it. We prefer it to store-bought pizza sauce. I use an 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the tomato paste/water combination. I omit the anchovy paste and chili power and flakes, add 1/4 t. of thyme and double the pepper. I also cook it in the microwave for 3 minutes instead of letting it sit for 30 minutes. We use this sauce for pizza sauce and breadstick dipping sauce. If you are worried about the sweetness, just add the honey last, and to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I follow this recipe to the T and I think it's great. I remember thinking when I made it for the first time that it wouldnt turn out. The taste is strange in its raw form, but onces it's slathered onto pizza dough and baked into the over its perfect. Sweet, salty, and spicy. I too make a double batch and freeze what I dont use for next time. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Delicious sauce, just a tad too sweet. Reduce the honey by 1 tablespoon and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I really really REALLY liked all the flavors in this sauce. It did come out a little sweet, which I was not fond of, but once all the salty toppings and cheese went on top of it, it mostly balanced out. The sweet was my fault, there was a little mishap with the honey and I think I wound up adding closer to 3tbsp. I took Northstar's suggestion and added some white wine to the warm water (also sweet). I will definitely make this again. I'm interested to see what it tastes like when I don't glob honey everywhere and when I'm prepared with a less-sweet wine. Portion-wise, I had enough to cover two of those pre-made crusts you get at the grocery store and two personal sized crusts. I guess I spread the sauce really thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is a winner - we absolutely loved it. Reduced the cayenne and red pepper flakes and added double the oregano. This is five star all the way. Thank you for posting such an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States