Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a very tasty sauce that adults and kids seem to love. I have made this with and without anchovy paste (merely because I don't always have it on hand.) Both versions are great! The sauce tastes better when it has time to sit, so making it ahead is recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Best pizza sauce ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
awesome pizza sauce... I reduced the amount of honey to one table spoon and it is perfect... great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is great! Maybe a bit too sweet, but that may be because I didn't spread it thin enough... Definitely will be a regular on our menu along with the master pizza dough recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
While I liked it more than Easy Pizza Sauce I, it didn't grab me. I had high hopes. 'Started with 1T honey then added one more. 'Think the right amount is in between. 'Nice & thick, & not too tomato paste-y. That was a big surprise. 'Not "the one" for us, but still glad I tried it. Btw, after making both recipes seperately, combined the two & still three star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My go-to pizza sauce recipe. I omit the honey because my kids think it makes the sauce taste funny and I add fresh herbs when I have them. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MChele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a great recipe. With all the negative reviews regarding the sweetness of the sauce I was worried about it. I'm glad I decided to go ahead and make the sauce because It was one of the best that I've made. I didn't have anchovy paste so I just used a pinch of sea salt salt in its place. All the flavors blend it well together. Make sure to use exact amount of ingredients this recipe calls for and please let it simmer for the time allocated. If you do this, it will come out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heavenly Eden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is fantastic. The best I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and agree with the previous reviewer who said he could eat it out of the bowl with a spoon. Next I'll try some fennel seeds but as-is this recipe is amazing. For folks worried about the anchovy paste, don't be. Your sauce won't taste like a can of anchovies smells. It mainly adds salt and savory flavor. You'd never guess there was anchovy paste in there. It all just works. Hey, no guts no glory! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDermott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This pizza sauce is unmistakably sweet, but our family loves it. We prefer it to store-bought pizza sauce. I use an 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the tomato paste/water combination. I omit the anchovy paste and chili power and flakes, add 1/4 t. of thyme and double the pepper. I also cook it in the microwave for 3 minutes instead of letting it sit for 30 minutes. We use this sauce for pizza sauce and breadstick dipping sauce. If you are worried about the sweetness, just add the honey last, and to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I follow this recipe to the T and I think it's great. I remember thinking when I made it for the first time that it wouldnt turn out. The taste is strange in its raw form, but onces it's slathered onto pizza dough and baked into the over its perfect. Sweet, salty, and spicy. I too make a double batch and freeze what I dont use for next time. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States