Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to the letter (no honey or salt at all at first, anchovy fillets rather than paste, and put all ingredients in a food processor). After letting sauce sit at room temp, I thought it tasted very good, but wanted a lot more kick (and some sweetness/honey). Added a tsp of honey, more oregano, basil, anchovy (not for everybody, I know), and cayenne. Then I cooked it on low for an hour. The flavors really developed (so much that I think it would be delicious over pasta).I give this four stars for a wonderful starter recipe that any cook can then season to taste. I look forward to making this again, and tweaking with whatever fresh Italian herbs I have on hand. (For those who don't like too much heat/spice/sweetness/anchovy and therefore rated this recipe low, I'd suggest cutting down on those ingredients to begin with, let the sauce sit, and then decide whether to add the given quantities. Also, if using anchovies, add any additional salt only after the sauce has been allowed to sit, according to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Agave nectar and fresh red peppers with local tomatoes in the sauce. Can't describe how good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvmorris1221

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent pizza sauce, my only complaint is that it is far too sweet for our tastes. We cut the honey in half or less, and it's wonderful. I suggest adding it at the end a little at a time until you get the sweetness you like. A small splash of red wine vinegar in the water also adds a little zing. We also do a fresh version using garden ingredients -- tomatos, basic, and oregano. Also use fresh onion and garlic, and throw in some more fresh herbs like thyme and rosemary and puree it. It's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this often! Love it! It's quick and easy, almost as quick as simply ordering a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is similar to the one I've always used for sauce but mine didn't call for the honey, anchovy paste, red pepper, Parmesan cheese or cayenne pepper. So when I made sauce last night I left out the honey (since tomato paste already has a sweetness to it and so many reviewers said the honey added made it too sweet), anchovy paste, (didn't have any) and the red and Cayenne peppers (my mom likes nothing the least bit spicy). I did add the Parmesan and also added about a half teaspoon of Franks Red Hot sauce, 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning blend, (it has all the individual herbs in it) minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. My son said it was the best sauce I'd made to date. Just adding the Parmesan and hot sauce made a big difference. I'll have to buy some anchovy paste next time I'm out to the grocery store so I can add that next time too. I won't tell any of my family though or they won't touch it with a 10 foot poll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe for the 'keeper' file! With the exception of the anchovy paste, all of the ingredients are in our pantry at all times, so it is a great quick way to make a meal. If you don't care for the slight sweetness, a Tablespoon of the honey could be omitted. Don't forget that the taste will vary depending on which brand of tomato paste is used. Tomato paste, not sauce, and yes, there IS a difference. This recipe made enough sauce to cover a baker's half sheet of crust quite well. At first bite, we realized we would have to find a different crust than we used, one worthy of this sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I use this sauce regularly and love it. The anchovy makes a real difference - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Best pizza sauce thus far. I personalized mine a little but I love the fact I didn't have to cook it over the stove then in the oven with the pizza. Packed with flavor. Also great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love this sauce. Skipped the anchovy paste ( 1-didn't have any, 2-don't like it ). Makes plenty of sauce for two medium sized pizzas. I don't find it overly sweet or spicy as some people have commented. Of course, tastes vary so adjust as necessary for your taste. Have also used the sauce when making pizza for gatherings and everyone really seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is so good. I've made it several times and it's so quick and easy. It's hot, spicy and I love the sweetness (it's not too sweet at all). I use it for pizza and pasta. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States