Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is a winner - we absolutely loved it. Reduced the cayenne and red pepper flakes and added double the oregano. This is five star all the way. Thank you for posting such an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
It was excellent. I followed as it is listed except I put garlic powder instead of fresh. + no anchovies as we do not like the taste. It make our pizza SUPER awesome with a little kick of spice (i put a little more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this from ingredients I had on hand which was everything except the anchovy paste. Other than that & maybe a few extra red pepper flakes since I like spicy this was prepared exactly as directed. It was really good but I could detect a hint of honey in the background which doesn't exactly pair well with pepperoni. If I do this again I'd probably add an equal amount of sugar to the water and make a weak simple syrup instead. I also might consider adding a couple of teaspoons of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
We really liked this pizza sauce. Didn't have anchovy paste, so we didn't add it and it still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
First time I made this, I followed the recipe to a "T" - incorporating all the ingredients, lab precise measurements, etc. It's still way too sweet and it tastes very much like tomato paste. I may not be Italian but I'm Mediterranean, and I've made pizza that my Italian friends beg me for. (Donatella and Paola, are both on Allrecipes and they can vouch for me). I'm guessing this recipe got so many high ratings because it was featured and promoted. I'd not give it five stars as the recipe is stated. Unless you are used to buying ready-made sauces. This recipe needs a lot of doctoring. I refused to throw it out so I added fresh tomatoes. Tomato paste will always have that canned taste, especially a full 6 oz. can. I used fresh Roma tomatoes sautéed in olive oil with garlic, onion and a pinch of sugar and the anchovy paste (if you like it; if not omit). Once this became aromatic, I added the herbs. I use oregano, basil, and marjoram to taste. This is not a bad recipe for pizza sauce; it just doesn't deserve the 5 stars. Especially when made "as-is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made this recipe the first time using the full amount of honey, cayenne, and crushed red peppers and excluding the anchovy paste. We found it to be too sweet and too spicy. Tonight I made it using half the amount of honey (and I actually substituted honey granules in place of regular honey), excluded the cayenne, and included the anchovy paste. We thought it was much better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make and tastes great on pizza or to dip breadsticks into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Maitland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this for another AR recipe because that recipe called for store bought!!! NO WAY! lol I figured I could throw something passable together and call it a day. This recipe is not only passible, it SURPASSED any pizza sauce I had ever had before! WONDERFUL AND easy??? OH YEAH! I had read a lot of the reviews before hand so I did cut back on the honey, but I kept the amount of crushed red pepper as written. It had a kick, I'm not gonna lie, but it was a GOOD kick and worked perfectly for me even though, normally, I'm not a fan of the heat. My husband LOVED it! Thanks for the recipe! Oh, I have some leftover so I put it in an air tight container and into the freezer. Hopefully it will still be just as awesome when I go to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I make this almost "as is" and we love it!!! I only omit the cayenne and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was quite tasty for a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States