Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I've used this recipe many, many times -- we love it. I actually use it so much, I put together a big batch of all the dry ingredients so I don't have to measure out all the spices every time (let alone go searching my pantry to find them every time)... I multiplied all the dry ingredients (onion powder through red pepper flakes) by 8 (eg, 1/4 tsp becomes 2 tsp, 1/8 is 1 tsp, etc), mixed them all up, and store them in a small jar -- every time I want to make the sauce, I just have to measure out 2 tsp of the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
We love this recipe! Hint: For easy/quick prep, scale this recipe to 40 and combine the dry spices in a spice jar. Whenever you want fresh sauce, use appx. 1 tablespoon of the mixture in the regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fayetteville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was very good, and I made no changes. My only comment is that it doesn't make a whole lot, so if you have a large pizza or calzone I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I made this recipe as is the first time, omitting the anchovy paste. We found it to be much too sweet and a little too oniony. Made it a second time using 1 tsp of honey rather than 2 tbsp and it was much better. Also used romano cheese rather than parmesean, and only used 1/2 tsp onion powder. Instead of adding dried herbs, we mixed the other ingredients together in a sauce pan and submerged a sprig each of fresh basil and oregano in the tomato mixture. Simmered for just a few minutes and then discarded the herb sprigs. We ended up with smooth tomato texture with a nice fresh herb taste. Don't simmer too long or the herb taste will be too overpowering! This sauce also has a kick when you cut back on the honey. Next time we'll do 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper *or* cayenne, not both. But we'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I added a few tablespoons of white wine to the warm water, which adds a wonderful flavor. Remember that the honey and peppers balance each other out, so if you follow other reviewers' suggestions and reduce the honey, you should also reduce the peppers -- unless you like your sauce very spicy. I use half the honey and use only half the black and cayenne pepper, and omit the red pepper flakes. I also double the oregano for a genuine pizzeria flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
"OH MY GOD...THIS PIZZA IS AWESOME!!" exclaimed my husband. We are a big pizza eating family and this was by far the BEST pizza sauce ever. I will have to agree with those that said to either completely eliminate the honey or cut it in half. I used half of it and still thought it was too sweet so I added lots of garlic salt to take away the sweetness. I will make this recipe for years to come. Thank you very much Angie for your great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
We found this recipe WAY TOO SWEET and WAY TOO SPICY. Think it could have been really good with the honey, cayenne pepper, and pepper flakes cut way back or cut out altogether. I kept adding more tomato paste and sauce and other spices to the recipe to try to mask these flavors and ended up with a ton of sauce that never did taste quite right. I would, however, make it again and think it would be a good sauce without those sweet and spicy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This comes about as close to perfection as any pizza sauce i've ever tasted and i'm old school Italian. Please do not variate or omit any ingredients you'll lose the "exquisite" flavor this sauce imparts. I read a review that said they ommited the anchovies and the sauce was to sweet. Anchovies give this a salty balance against the honey sweetness. The odd thing was this was voted a top review, people please! I could eat this with a spoon as is, it's just that good. In my 50 years of life this is the best pizza sauce i've ever tasted. (yep, it's THAT good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Nice! I used 8 oz. of tomato sauce and less honey and cheese. My husband raved and ate the entire pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
A really great sauce! I omitted the anchovy paste but used the full amount of all other ingredients. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States