Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
8/22/14-I used this recipe for homemade French bread pizzas and it was excellent. I was trying to control my budget by using what I had on hand and I needed to know how to flavor with tomato paste as the base. I had all of the ingredients and it was a perfect mix of sweet and savory. I had half a can of leftover tomato paste and another unopened in the cupboard which necessitated 1 & 1/2-ing the recipe. We always like more sauce. This gave us plenty to cover 8 french bread pizzas about 6 inches long each. I will use it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I'll never use another pizza sauce recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Don't do spicy so cut that out. Was super fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
loved this. I did cut the honey in half per other reviews although I think it would have been great as is! In my opinion, pizza sauce is supposed to be a bit sweet. Delicious. This will now be my go to. UPDATE: trying a double recipe tonight with 3tbsp honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to the letter (no honey or salt at all at first, anchovy fillets rather than paste, and put all ingredients in a food processor). After letting sauce sit at room temp, I thought it tasted very good, but wanted a lot more kick (and some sweetness/honey). Added a tsp of honey, more oregano, basil, anchovy (not for everybody, I know), and cayenne. Then I cooked it on low for an hour. The flavors really developed (so much that I think it would be delicious over pasta).I give this four stars for a wonderful starter recipe that any cook can then season to taste. I look forward to making this again, and tweaking with whatever fresh Italian herbs I have on hand. (For those who don't like too much heat/spice/sweetness/anchovy and therefore rated this recipe low, I'd suggest cutting down on those ingredients to begin with, let the sauce sit, and then decide whether to add the given quantities. Also, if using anchovies, add any additional salt only after the sauce has been allowed to sit, according to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Agave nectar and fresh red peppers with local tomatoes in the sauce. Can't describe how good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvmorris1221

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent pizza sauce, my only complaint is that it is far too sweet for our tastes. We cut the honey in half or less, and it's wonderful. I suggest adding it at the end a little at a time until you get the sweetness you like. A small splash of red wine vinegar in the water also adds a little zing. We also do a fresh version using garden ingredients -- tomatos, basic, and oregano. Also use fresh onion and garlic, and throw in some more fresh herbs like thyme and rosemary and puree it. It's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this often! Love it! It's quick and easy, almost as quick as simply ordering a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I left out the honey (since tomato paste already has a sweetness to it and so many reviewers said the honey added made it too sweet), anchovy paste, (didn't have any) and the red and Cayenne peppers (my mom likes nothing the least bit spicy). I did add the Parmesan and also added about a half teaspoon of Franks Red Hot sauce, 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning blend, (it has all the individual herbs in it) minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. My son said it was the best sauce I'd made to date. Just adding the Parmesan and hot sauce made a big difference. I'll have to buy some anchovy paste next time I'm out to the grocery store so I can add that next time too. I won't tell any of my family though or they won't touch it with a 10 foot poll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe for the 'keeper' file! With the exception of the anchovy paste, all of the ingredients are in our pantry at all times, so it is a great quick way to make a meal. If you don't care for the slight sweetness, a Tablespoon of the honey could be omitted. Don't forget that the taste will vary depending on which brand of tomato paste is used. Tomato paste, not sauce, and yes, there IS a difference. This recipe made enough sauce to cover a baker's half sheet of crust quite well. At first bite, we realized we would have to find a different crust than we used, one worthy of this sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States