Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have been trying all kinds of pizza sauce only to fall back on Trader Joes brand in a jar. I just made pizza dough this weekend & I found this recipe. I am an east coast woman & I know what great pizza tastes like. I decided to try this because I already had everything in my pantry. I used Cento tomato paste which has a more tart taste to it so these ingredients really balanced out the paste. I followed it to the letter not leaving anything out. I let it sit for an hr before using. I wish I would have used a little more on the crust but there was plenty left over for another crust. This is really delicious & very authentic. For people who love to eat & make pizza, you just can't go wrong. Don't halve anything in this recipe. The honey & anchovies paste balance each other & it was not overly sweet. My rule in trying a new recipe is to not change a thing even if you're out of an ingredient. It lessens the integrity of the recipe if you do. That said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Butcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Awesome didn't have cayenne so added a little more red pepper. Cut the honey to just 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this sweet & spicy recipe. So easy to make & tasty. I followed directions exactly, also adding the anchovy paste. When I'm using fresh herbs, I double the amount. I don't like a ton of sauce on pizza (this recipe will last for 4-5 of my flatbread-style pizzas). Some reviewers complained about over sweetness or spiciness, but it was just perfect for our taste. It's not a sauce with a heavy herb flavor...if that's your thing then maybe look for a different recipe. I store the leftover sauce in the fridge, and warm it in the microwave for 20-30 seconds and add a little water as needed before putting it on the pizza dough. I think the sauce is best freshly made, but it stays well in the fridge too (I keep it up to a week).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My go-to pizza sauce. Beats jar sauce anyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I haven't had anchovy paste to use and I use canned diced tomatoes that I blend the ingredients in my bullet first, then cook. Comes out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Highly recommended. Make it EXACTLY as written, any alterations could only diminish your results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
8/22/14-I used this recipe for homemade French bread pizzas and it was excellent. I was trying to control my budget by using what I had on hand and I needed to know how to flavor with tomato paste as the base. I had all of the ingredients and it was a perfect mix of sweet and savory. I had half a can of leftover tomato paste and another unopened in the cupboard which necessitated 1 & 1/2-ing the recipe. We always like more sauce. This gave us plenty to cover 8 french bread pizzas about 6 inches long each. I will use it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I'll never use another pizza sauce recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Don't do spicy so cut that out. Was super fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
loved this. I did cut the honey in half per other reviews although I think it would have been great as is! In my opinion, pizza sauce is supposed to be a bit sweet. Delicious. This will now be my go to. UPDATE: trying a double recipe tonight with 3tbsp honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,726) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States