Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very good and could not be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is the 1st time using this recipe, and will use again. This sauce leaves room for interpretation. I didn't have minced garlic, so I used the same amount of garlic salt instead. So far it tastes great. This sauce may be a little spicy for some people. Anchovy paste? It sounds disgusting it even looks disgusting - USE IT anyway. Make the sauce; it's simple, inexpensive and restaurant quality. Then the next time you make it... play with it; add stuff, omit stuff, use a different measurement it's worth the extra effort. Thank you Angie Gorkoff. small tip: if you open the can of tomato paste on both ends, it will just slide right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
My family really enjoys this recipe - it's a keeper! We do, however, like to add a little bit more cayenne and red pepper flakes. But, that is for our own personal taste. The recipe is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I didn't care for this sauce. It tasted much more to me like spaghetti sauce than pizza sauce. Way too sweet and just lacked the tangy taste of pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B white

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This sauce was really good! To save time and $ I bought the "italian tomato paste" with basil and oregano. I also only put in a teaspoon of honey (I do not like sweet pizza sauce). And it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really great flavor, though based on other reviews, I reduced the honey by half and added garlic powder..bc what kind of pizza sauce doesn't have that? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The BEST pizza sauce! I mean, I have nothing to compare it to other than store bought because it's the first one I've tried. But it was AMAZING! Such a good flavor. Not to mention that this is super easy and doesn't even use that much in terms of ingredients. Spices and such but only one can of tomato paste? Can't beat that. I will never buy store bought pizza sauce again. What a waste of money when this stuff is easy and tastes amazing. This will definitely be a regular for us and will make me want to do homemade pizza nights every week hopefully! By the way, I didn't change anything on the recipe and I don't think I would make any changes either. The only thing I might consider is cutting out the red pepper flakes, but the spice it adds isn't too overpowering and adds a depth of flavor so I might not even do that. Definitely try this! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good and easy! I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and zero anchovy. I eye-balled the honey, looked to be a tad less than 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have been trying all kinds of pizza sauce only to fall back on Trader Joes brand in a jar. I just made pizza dough this weekend & I found this recipe. I am an east coast woman & I know what great pizza tastes like. I decided to try this because I already had everything in my pantry. I used Cento tomato paste which has a more tart taste to it so these ingredients really balanced out the paste. I followed it to the letter not leaving anything out. I let it sit for an hr before using. I wish I would have used a little more on the crust but there was plenty left over for another crust. This is really delicious & very authentic. For people who love to eat & make pizza, you just can't go wrong. Don't halve anything in this recipe. The honey & anchovies paste balance each other & it was not overly sweet. My rule in trying a new recipe is to not change a thing even if you're out of an ingredient. It lessens the integrity of the recipe if you do. That said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Butcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Awesome didn't have cayenne so added a little more red pepper. Cut the honey to just 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States