Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
WAY good! As others have mentioned it doesn't make much sauce so I doubled everything but the honey. In fact, for the double recipe I only used one tablespoon of honey and it was great for us! We like our food a little spicy and it was perfect. For those with a palate that leans toward the more mild the additional honey would work well. I used oregano and basil from our herb garden so I had to up those spices quite a bit but the additional green bits floating about are gorgeous! I am Italian and have been cooking Italian food for ages and this is one of the best sauces I have ever stumbled across! Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
It may seem a little overwhelming to make this because there are so many ingredients, but they are most often available in my kitchen. I have made this several times and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this sauce today and it was better than 5 stars, just put one table spoon honey in perfect and just a little bit of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This is a lightly sweet and slightly spicy pizza sauce! . I've been making this recipe for years. It's the best sauce I've found for my preferred taste profile. I always use the anchovy paste. There will be no fishy taste to the pizza but needs to be used to balance the flavor composition. When you taste it you still may think it's too sweet or spicy. By the time you add a crust, cheese and toppings it will be perfect. Don't lick he spoon and then dump it down the sink because you think it's bad before you even try it on pizza. There is only one minor change that I've made over the years...I make a huge batch and I simmer it slowly for a few hours adding water as necessary to compensate for evaporation. The cooking process mellows all the flavors and brings them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is the absolute tastiest and easiest pizza sauce ever! Made it twice now. The second time I cut the honey back to half. Way better! I love a bit of sweetness in my food so I have no problem with the honey.Spices are perfect and for you folks that cut back the honey, well you better cut back the hot pepper and cayenne too because without the honey, it will be hot!. Lovely recipe and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
A bit too sweet and the dried herbs were overpowering. Maybe cooking it would mellow the herbs a bit? I'm glad I tried it, but I will look around for other recipes to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Maybe try again without honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This is my go-to pizza sauce and it's perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Way too sweet. I read all of the conflicting reviews and decided to trust the author this first time. The sweetness wasn't evident until after baking the pizzas for some reason. The sauce was absolutely delicious with this one exception. Next time I'll halve the honey and I expect it will be PERFECT. (This is the crust I used - AMAZING! http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2013/01/foolproof-pan-pizza-recipe.html)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,726) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States