Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really great flavor, though based on other reviews, I reduced the honey by half and added garlic powder..bc what kind of pizza sauce doesn't have that? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The BEST pizza sauce! I mean, I have nothing to compare it to other than store bought because it's the first one I've tried. But it was AMAZING! Such a good flavor. Not to mention that this is super easy and doesn't even use that much in terms of ingredients. Spices and such but only one can of tomato paste? Can't beat that. I will never buy store bought pizza sauce again. What a waste of money when this stuff is easy and tastes amazing. This will definitely be a regular for us and will make me want to do homemade pizza nights every week hopefully! By the way, I didn't change anything on the recipe and I don't think I would make any changes either. The only thing I might consider is cutting out the red pepper flakes, but the spice it adds isn't too overpowering and adds a depth of flavor so I might not even do that. Definitely try this! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good and easy! I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and zero anchovy. I eye-balled the honey, looked to be a tad less than 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have been trying all kinds of pizza sauce only to fall back on Trader Joes brand in a jar. I just made pizza dough this weekend & I found this recipe. I am an east coast woman & I know what great pizza tastes like. I decided to try this because I already had everything in my pantry. I used Cento tomato paste which has a more tart taste to it so these ingredients really balanced out the paste. I followed it to the letter not leaving anything out. I let it sit for an hr before using. I wish I would have used a little more on the crust but there was plenty left over for another crust. This is really delicious & very authentic. For people who love to eat & make pizza, you just can't go wrong. Don't halve anything in this recipe. The honey & anchovies paste balance each other & it was not overly sweet. My rule in trying a new recipe is to not change a thing even if you're out of an ingredient. It lessens the integrity of the recipe if you do. That said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Butcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Awesome didn't have cayenne so added a little more red pepper. Cut the honey to just 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this sweet & spicy recipe. So easy to make & tasty. I followed directions exactly, also adding the anchovy paste. When I'm using fresh herbs, I double the amount. I don't like a ton of sauce on pizza (this recipe will last for 4-5 of my flatbread-style pizzas). Some reviewers complained about over sweetness or spiciness, but it was just perfect for our taste. It's not a sauce with a heavy herb flavor...if that's your thing then maybe look for a different recipe. I store the leftover sauce in the fridge, and warm it in the microwave for 20-30 seconds and add a little water as needed before putting it on the pizza dough. I think the sauce is best freshly made, but it stays well in the fridge too (I keep it up to a week).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My go-to pizza sauce. Beats jar sauce anyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I haven't had anchovy paste to use and I use canned diced tomatoes that I blend the ingredients in my bullet first, then cook. Comes out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Highly recommended. Make it EXACTLY as written, any alterations could only diminish your results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States