Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I took the hint of others and omitted the honey.. The sauce was too sweet and bland. So I started dumping more garlic, onion powder, salt, basiil and pizza seasoning. I don't think I improved upon it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I read all the comments and the only thing I did differently was to double the paste and water! I loved this and I've been looking for a homemade sauce for a long time. I omitted the anchovy paste because I didn't have any. I will try again and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Great sauce. I use it every time. Kids felt it was too sweet and a bit to hot. So, I just cut the honey in half and omitted one of the peppers. Anchovy paste is the best secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Pedersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This recipe was too sweet for our tastes. After reading many reviews, I found most people really thought this recipe was exquisite. However, for us the sweetness was overwhelming. Next time I will use much less honey or substitute sugar. I do believed the anchovy paste is essential to counter balance the honey, but not enough. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I was using another recipe for my pizza sauce and always thought something was missing. This recipe is the answer to my problem! LOVE THIS! I don't use the marjoram or anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a great pizza sauce recipe. I multiplied the recipe by 6 and canned it what I didn't use on the pizza I made for dinner. I didn't have anchovy paste or honey and I left out the cayenne pepper purposely to keep the heat down. I added sugar to taste, which ended up being about 1 1/2 tablespoons. You need some sugar to keep the balance of flavors with the spicy peppers and the bitter of the tomato. I also had to substitute one whole minced onion, and about 4 cloves of fresh garlic for the powder since I didn't have powdered. I blended everything after cooking to make a smooth velvety sauce. Overall, this recipe is very easy and it tastes great. It is easily substituted for what you have on hand or personal taste preferences. My personal tastes: I added one cup of dry red wine and let everything simmer for an hour before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made it a little spicier and it is fantastic. Best pizza sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used this recipe to make individual pizzas for my daughter's birthday party and they were a hit! I love that I don't have to cook the sauce. It was thick, had a bit of a kick, and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
YUM!!!! I have never before made a pizza sauce that I didn't have to cook and I admit that I was skeptical, but the lack of time I had to prepare the sauce and the reviews persuaded me to try this recipe. Wow, I am sure glad I did! I had to leave the cayenne pepper out because my husband is a spice wuss and I omitted the anchovy paste on principle, but other than that I followed the recipe just the way it is written. Amazing doesn't begin to cover it. It is tangy, spicy, sweet and perfect in my book. I have all ready passed this recipe on to others who love it as much as we do. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Pizza night may never be the same again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States