Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Perfection!!! I'm addicted to this pate, as is everyone I've made it for. I would not change a single ingredient. Of course, MLM. Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I sautéed mushrooms separately to brown, added splash of port and reduced. I also blended in some cream cheese. Oh yum. Cream cheese isn't necessary, but I'm a cream cheese lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as written and I found it to be way too rich. I thought that was a lot of butter, but I stuck with the recipe, and whooeee it's a lot of butter! After tasting the finished product, I was able to salvage it, and ended up with something I would actually give 4+ stars to. I cut in about a cup of sour cream. Yes, you read that correctly, I added sour cream to REDUCE the richness, that's how rich this recipe was. Then I added a bit of garlic powder and salt to punch it up a bit and it ended up being quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've made this often and it's perfect just as it is. The thyme is a crucial element - it really brings out the flavor of the mushrooms. I've also occasionally changed it up (depending on my guests' palates) by adding a tablespoon of brandy, 3 oz of cream cheese and a dash or two of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
absolutely spectacular dish! Great hot or cold. My kids love this dish when I put it inside of puft pastry and bake it until its golden brown. I have used both walnuts and pecans, they both work. For those of you not liking the earthy taste or getting dirt taste, you must wash not just wipe the mushrooms. Also we sauteed the mushrooms for a very long time to bring out the natural sweetness. Low and slow produces amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I used crimini mushrooms which are quite meaty but don't have the flavor of the mushrooms in original recipe so added a touch of worcestershire and balsamic at the end. The consistency and texture is great. I will make again but next time will double the parsley/other herbs, and skip toasting the walnuts. Using this spread on baguettes and sandwiches for vegetarian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Very good! Im vegan so i had to modify the ingredients but it turned out fabulous. I also added almond pulp (from making almond milk) the texture is smooth like a liver pâté. Hubby liked it too, he couldn't stop eating it. Will make this again but will make sure to use the variety of mushrooms asked for in the recipe. I only had button mushrooms on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
We used minced garlic instead of roasted puree, added white wine while sauteeing, lemon juice, and parmesan and it came out delicious. Also, used a combination of olive oil and butter instead of all butter, and garlic sea salt instead of normal salt. Such a great appetizer! Doesn't taste too mushroom-y, almost tastes meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Excellent! Add a splash of Marsala to the mushrooms a few minutes before they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was an awesome recipe! I searched for " exotic mushroom recipes" on Google and came across this one. I was hooked as soon as i read it and it turned out wonderfully whne I came home from a mushroom festival with the required mushrooms. I'm now a fan of yours for your great taste in food recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States