Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Amazing! I was blown away, and no one could stop eating it. I often collect wild mushrooms (not for beginners) and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. This recipe has the potential for endless variations of different nuts and mushrooms, all delicious! A word about mushrooms: 1-wipe clean with a paper towel to remove any debris. 2-discard the stem, it is "tougher" than the cap and may produce a gritty texture in the finished product. 3-initially cook on med-high heat with butter and oil (adding oil increases the smoke point and keeps the butter from burning) to caramelize the mushrooms, (just like caramelized onions, they taste better). Then lower the heat and add non-salted flavored liquid (wine, sherry, etc) and water as necessary to tenderize and finish cooking. I would also like to clarify the amount of walnuts, I believe it is 1 cup of whole walnuts, not chopped, or diced, so adjust accordingly and use a smaller amount of chopped or diced. Take care not to burn the walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Yummy! I added a little extra parsley and garlic and a splash of white wine, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
crazy good! and someday i want to make it exactly as written. however ... i had some shrooms in the fridge that i needed to use up and this recipe caught my eye -- must have been the word "exotic." mine were not, but thought i could sub anyway. oh, wait. walnuts? didn't have any of those either. no shallots. i used regular onions, white and baby bella mushrooms, elephant garlic, all the fresh herbs listed plus sage. for the walnuts -- and this is REALLY nuts! -- i used old-fashioned peanut butter! i made just a little in case it was inedible, but here i sit with my "woven wheat crackers" (didn't have french bread!) chowing down like crazy! thanks for the "exotic" inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I added dry white wine and a lil extra butter when I cooked the mushrooms down. Then I added a couple tablespoons of finely grated parmesan when I mixed everything together. Delicious! This is definitely something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this was excellent. The roasted garlic is great - really brings out the woody mushroom flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and molded my pate in a plastic-lined ramekin. I served this with a sesame baguette and sliced green apples. We all loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was outstanding. I made half the recipe for the four of us. We all really liked it. I roasted my garlic in the oven with the dessert I was baking for dinner. I froze the rest of the roasted garlic because I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love, love, LOVE this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! I'm Vegan and made a couple of modifications (Vegan butter and roasted pine nuts, cause I burned the Walnuts). Eveyone at my party liked it, and asked for the recipe. So good... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
this was great! Even my non-mushroom eating kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Too good! I am just not sure about the need to chill. It tasted perfect to me, I put in the refrigerator, then I couldnt find it. I called my wife whom is a good finder of all things lost, but she had stolen it! She tasted it, thought it would make a good lunch, took it to work and made lunch of it for two days. It is a great recipe. But be careful when chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States