Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
crazy good! and someday i want to make it exactly as written. however ... i had some shrooms in the fridge that i needed to use up and this recipe caught my eye -- must have been the word "exotic." mine were not, but thought i could sub anyway. oh, wait. walnuts? didn't have any of those either. no shallots. i used regular onions, white and baby bella mushrooms, elephant garlic, all the fresh herbs listed plus sage. for the walnuts -- and this is REALLY nuts! -- i used old-fashioned peanut butter! i made just a little in case it was inedible, but here i sit with my "woven wheat crackers" (didn't have french bread!) chowing down like crazy! thanks for the "exotic" inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this was excellent. The roasted garlic is great - really brings out the woody mushroom flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and molded my pate in a plastic-lined ramekin. I served this with a sesame baguette and sliced green apples. We all loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Yummy! I added a little extra parsley and garlic and a splash of white wine, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I added dry white wine and a lil extra butter when I cooked the mushrooms down. Then I added a couple tablespoons of finely grated parmesan when I mixed everything together. Delicious! This is definitely something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love, love, LOVE this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Ok, I did not care for this recipe and I LOVE all of the ingrediants. The mushroom mixture was great until I added the walnuts. Even thou I thought that it was not good, I still brought it to the party hoping that it was just my taste buds. No one had more than one bite. I can't even figure out how to fix it. I really want to give it one star but that would give it a very low star rating and deter other people from trying it out on there own. Maybe it was me...but I don't think so. Look at my other reviews and see that I am usually a very possitve reviewer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This pate is one of the best dips I've ever had. I sauteed the mushroom ingredients on low, because when cooking with pure butter it burns easily, so I wanted to be careful. I added a splash of white wine, and I slowly cooked the mushrooms for about 45 mins. I also didn't feel like roasting the garlic (it was too hot out), so I added minced garlic to the mushrooms. Next time I'll try it with roast garlic, but it was still fantastic. VERY gourmet, and perfect for a classy event, or wine tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
i love it soooooooooooooooooo much its the best thing i ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States