Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Very good! Im vegan so i had to modify the ingredients but it turned out fabulous. I also added almond pulp (from making almond milk) the texture is smooth like a liver pâté. Hubby liked it too, he couldn't stop eating it. Will make this again but will make sure to use the variety of mushrooms asked for in the recipe. I only had button mushrooms on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
We used minced garlic instead of roasted puree, added white wine while sauteeing, lemon juice, and parmesan and it came out delicious. Also, used a combination of olive oil and butter instead of all butter, and garlic sea salt instead of normal salt. Such a great appetizer! Doesn't taste too mushroom-y, almost tastes meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Excellent! Add a splash of Marsala to the mushrooms a few minutes before they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was an awesome recipe! I searched for " exotic mushroom recipes" on Google and came across this one. I was hooked as soon as i read it and it turned out wonderfully whne I came home from a mushroom festival with the required mushrooms. I'm now a fan of yours for your great taste in food recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Enjoyed the taste immensely...will be even better when I have all the mushroom varieties. Only had crimini mushrooms, just shy of 1 cup walnuts so added almonds, only had freezed-dried shallots, dried parsley and thyme. So, added a wee bit of chardonnay to compensate for the dried goods and processed it in my mini-prep processor (it got pretty full). Was short on time so put it in the freezer for about 10 minutes to quickly cool it. Even with all the drawbacks, it was tasty and everyone enjoyed it. Will try it again with correct ingredients and sitting time...am sure it will be over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Nice thing about this recipe is that it's easy to tweak. I increased mushroom qty to 1lb, used whatever I had on hand. Reduced butter to 1/4c +1tblspn. Increased roasted garlic paste, shallot/onion, salt, pepper, herbs. Important not to overbrown walnut, but next time think I'll try almonds or almond meal. Will definitely try adding wine, marsala, brandy reducing mushroom mix. Tried lemon juice but thought it was insignifcant to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Too good! I am just not sure about the need to chill. It tasted perfect to me, I put in the refrigerator, then I couldnt find it. I called my wife whom is a good finder of all things lost, but she had stolen it! She tasted it, thought it would make a good lunch, took it to work and made lunch of it for two days. It is a great recipe. But be careful when chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was outstanding. I made half the recipe for the four of us. We all really liked it. I roasted my garlic in the oven with the dessert I was baking for dinner. I froze the rest of the roasted garlic because I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Amazing! I was blown away, and no one could stop eating it. I often collect wild mushrooms (not for beginners) and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. This recipe has the potential for endless variations of different nuts and mushrooms, all delicious! A word about mushrooms: 1-wipe clean with a paper towel to remove any debris. 2-discard the stem, it is "tougher" than the cap and may produce a gritty texture in the finished product. 3-initially cook on med-high heat with butter and oil (adding oil increases the smoke point and keeps the butter from burning) to caramelize the mushrooms, (just like caramelized onions, they taste better). Then lower the heat and add non-salted flavored liquid (wine, sherry, etc) and water as necessary to tenderize and finish cooking. I would also like to clarify the amount of walnuts, I believe it is 1 cup of whole walnuts, not chopped, or diced, so adjust accordingly and use a smaller amount of chopped or diced. Take care not to burn the walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
labor intensive but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States