Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Enjoyed the taste immensely...will be even better when I have all the mushroom varieties. Only had crimini mushrooms, just shy of 1 cup walnuts so added almonds, only had freezed-dried shallots, dried parsley and thyme. So, added a wee bit of chardonnay to compensate for the dried goods and processed it in my mini-prep processor (it got pretty full). Was short on time so put it in the freezer for about 10 minutes to quickly cool it. Even with all the drawbacks, it was tasty and everyone enjoyed it. Will try it again with correct ingredients and sitting time...am sure it will be over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Nice thing about this recipe is that it's easy to tweak. I increased mushroom qty to 1lb, used whatever I had on hand. Reduced butter to 1/4c +1tblspn. Increased roasted garlic paste, shallot/onion, salt, pepper, herbs. Important not to overbrown walnut, but next time think I'll try almonds or almond meal. Will definitely try adding wine, marsala, brandy reducing mushroom mix. Tried lemon juice but thought it was insignifcant to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Too good! I am just not sure about the need to chill. It tasted perfect to me, I put in the refrigerator, then I couldnt find it. I called my wife whom is a good finder of all things lost, but she had stolen it! She tasted it, thought it would make a good lunch, took it to work and made lunch of it for two days. It is a great recipe. But be careful when chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was outstanding. I made half the recipe for the four of us. We all really liked it. I roasted my garlic in the oven with the dessert I was baking for dinner. I froze the rest of the roasted garlic because I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Amazing! I was blown away, and no one could stop eating it. I often collect wild mushrooms (not for beginners) and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. This recipe has the potential for endless variations of different nuts and mushrooms, all delicious! A word about mushrooms: 1-wipe clean with a paper towel to remove any debris. 2-discard the stem, it is "tougher" than the cap and may produce a gritty texture in the finished product. 3-initially cook on med-high heat with butter and oil (adding oil increases the smoke point and keeps the butter from burning) to caramelize the mushrooms, (just like caramelized onions, they taste better). Then lower the heat and add non-salted flavored liquid (wine, sherry, etc) and water as necessary to tenderize and finish cooking. I would also like to clarify the amount of walnuts, I believe it is 1 cup of whole walnuts, not chopped, or diced, so adjust accordingly and use a smaller amount of chopped or diced. Take care not to burn the walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
labor intensive but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
An unusual and warm nutty pate. I added a dash of balsamic vinegar, and worcestorshire sauce when the mushrooms were sauteed. I used only button as it had no others in stock , but it still came out great . Used fresh sage too. Also put in a few frops of lemon juice as i was purreing it in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allhail
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
this was great! Even my non-mushroom eating kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! I'm Vegan and made a couple of modifications (Vegan butter and roasted pine nuts, cause I burned the Walnuts). Eveyone at my party liked it, and asked for the recipe. So good... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was just okay. It tasted very mushroomy, which I like, but others said it tasted "dirty" to them. It does have a very earthy flavor. The exotic mushrooms aren't cheap and this took some time to put together. Just wasn't good enough to warrant the expense and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe's nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States