Exotic Brinjal (Spicy Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Used two eggplants, fried in two batches. Used a small can of green chiles, omitted fenugreek, used onion powder (didn't have kalonji), 2/3 can tomato paste and water, and dried cilantro. Also doubled the coconut milk. Sprinkled with cashews, served over brown rice with naan. My mom dislikes Indian food and she LOVED this!! I was impressed by this recipe myself! Try it, it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious. I made it as shown except I did not have the onion seeds. Regarding amounts, I added a half can of tomato sauce and a half can of Chaokoh coconut milk and that was perfect. I made sure to cook the eggplant very well, because I like it mushy. One of my favorite vegan Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This dish is AWESOME. I didnt use the kalonji or fenugreek seed because I didnt have them but it still tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Luv it. Added some turkey meatballs and called it dinner! The coconut mild tames the spice. It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very tasty; I liked the blend of all the spices. I would definitely double the tomatoes (and I used canned, diced) and the coconut milk. Maybe to make it a bit more tangy, I would add some vinegar or even more tomatoes. I made this again, and this time used almond milk in place of the coconut milk, and it was fine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was my first attempt at Indian cooking and I have to say it was a huge success! This dish is absolutely delicious. Because I didn't have some of the spices on hand I used a good curry which I browned slightly in the skillet and the flavor was excellent. I did omit the oil using a nonstick skillet. I have to give this one 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sew What?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
One of my new favorite recipes! So delicious and exotic. It's definitely not pretty, but I crave this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Sliced eggplant into batons and grilled it on my cast iron griller to save on calories. Added some chat masala at the end of cooking to give it a bit of a zing. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scalingi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients but just made up for what I missed. I had mostly what I needed and it was delicious and easy. It was a nice hearty dish too so I don't need to make any meat. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The recipe is great, very authentic and easy enough to prepare... bf was not a fan so I was left with considerable leftovers...which made a great soup! I added about 1/2 cup of red cargo rice and a quart or so of chicken broth and it made a great lunch soup! Thanks for the interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States