Exotic Brinjal (Spicy Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Very good recipe. I had to make a few alterations. I did not have coconut milk, tomato puree, green chile pepper, or kalonji. I also added 1 pound of tofu and 1 cup of black beans. I friend the eggplant and tofu in coconut oil until golden, proceeded with the recipe as directed substituting 1 green pepper (for the green chile), 2 cans of tomato sauce, and almond milk. I added the black beans when I returned the eggplant to the mixture. I served over rice. I will be making this again. One note, this is a milder dish (keeping in mind I did not use a chile). If you like a very spicy dish you may want to make a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Sliced eggplant into batons and grilled it on my cast iron griller to save on calories. Added some chat masala at the end of cooking to give it a bit of a zing. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scalingi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The recipe is great, very authentic and easy enough to prepare... bf was not a fan so I was left with considerable leftovers...which made a great soup! I added about 1/2 cup of red cargo rice and a quart or so of chicken broth and it made a great lunch soup! Thanks for the interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
One of my new favorite recipes! So delicious and exotic. It's definitely not pretty, but I crave this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I baked the eggplant instead of frying. I would rate this 5 stars if there was more sauce, which I love! Great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients but just made up for what I missed. I had mostly what I needed and it was delicious and easy. It was a nice hearty dish too so I don't need to make any meat. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Luv it. Added some turkey meatballs and called it dinner! The coconut mild tames the spice. It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious. I made it as shown except I did not have the onion seeds. Regarding amounts, I added a half can of tomato sauce and a half can of Chaokoh coconut milk and that was perfect. I made sure to cook the eggplant very well, because I like it mushy. One of my favorite vegan Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very tasty; I liked the blend of all the spices. I would definitely double the tomatoes (and I used canned, diced) and the coconut milk. Maybe to make it a bit more tangy, I would add some vinegar or even more tomatoes. I made this again, and this time used almond milk in place of the coconut milk, and it was fine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was my first attempt at Indian cooking and I have to say it was a huge success! This dish is absolutely delicious. Because I didn't have some of the spices on hand I used a good curry which I browned slightly in the skillet and the flavor was excellent. I did omit the oil using a nonstick skillet. I have to give this one 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sew What?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States