Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
After reading many of the reviews I expected this to be dry and it was. But I didn't mind that. It was not sweet enough for me, but I had no problem eating it! I used honey instead of sugar and wasn't sure, based on the reviews/comments, if those folks were ADDING honey to the existing sugar or subbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe. I tweaked the recipe a tad.. The changes I made were I used nonfat Greek yogurt, used 1/4c whole wheat flour, cut the unbleached flour down to 3/4c and added 1/2 can of creamed corn. This is the best cornbread I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I only had plain 2% Greek yogurt on hand and decided to use that. When I mixed everything together it was really dry so I added some milk to make it more like a cornbread consistency. It tasted okay but lacked the sweetness I was looking for. The consistency was like a really, really dense cake and did not crumble like I had hoped. I don't know if it was the Greek yogurt or the recipe but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Excellent cornbread recipe. Very sweet and dense, just like we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe did not work out as well as rated. I made it as the recipe calls for. Maybe better luck next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is great! As others have posted, this bread is not crumbly and airy, but I really enjoy it's denser texture. It's filling without being super heavy; the perfect companion to a bowl of chili. The batter is very thick and "sticky." I thought I had missed an ingredient at first but after double-checking, I used a spatula to get it into my pan and then 20 minutes later, it was done and beautiful! I did add some honey to my batter and cut a bit of the sugar out (personal preference). I also thought that the top was getting too dark so after about 12 minutes, I cut the heat to 350 and finished it on that. I would definitely make this again and recommend it to anyone (for even those not looking for a "healthy" recipe, they won't even know the difference)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe! My husband and I loved this more than regular, higher-fat versions. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I love the texture of this cornbread, it isn't crumbly at all. I do think the people that added a little honey were probably on the smart side, as I wish it had been a little sweeter. Much more moist than I expected! Also, it was awesome right out of the oven, but quite a bit more dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good. To up the health factor I used half whole wheat flour, half white and used honey instead of sugar. It was a little more dense due to the WW flour and the color was a little different but overall we really liked it. I love cornbread but hate how bad it is for you so this is a nice compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
They're dense but really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States