Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This is a simple recipe with delicious results. I added 1/2 cup liquid honey, next time I'll add just 1/4 cup as it was a little too sweet. It held well together and was great with baked beans. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Excellent cornbread! I added 1 Tbsp. of oil and 2 Tbsp. of honey, which still kept it lowfat and made it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
The texture is not crumbly and cake-like but is firmer and denser. It has an excellent flavor and is perfectly moist. It's especially good with fat-free margarine and/or honey. I will make this again. My family likes this better than the higher fat versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This tastes the best warm from the oven. I love the light texture and good corn flavor. Using yogurt with fruit inside gives it added interest and sweetness. Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
Excellent cornbread! My whole family loved it. It was even better than my old recipe that used 1/2 c. oil. Thanks for a great low-fat recipe Maria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were very good for being healthy. It is little drier than I would like but you can't have everything, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I made this late last night to use for johnny cake this morning......it is absoulutely yummy, not too sweet and with a good corn flavor. I will make this very often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Wow! I'm originally from SC so I'm kinda picky about my cornbread...Mama and Granmama were great cornbread makers. I needed to use up some plain yogurt to I tried this recipe. The only changes I made were to use Splenda in place of the sugar plus a tiny squeeze of honey(less than a tablespoon). I also used a little bit(about a tablespoon) of the new "Enova" oil. It was so good and moist, not too sweet and the texture stayed nice for a couple of days afterwards. We liked the leftover chunks split and toasted with a touch of grated sharp cheddar cheese sprinked on then. I am looking forward to making another batch and adding some chopped fresh jalapenos! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
It had a real funny taste to it, will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Very bland. The cornbread I used wasn't the sweet kind, so if you try this recipe, use a very sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States