Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Best. Cornbread. Ever. I made for my family and they devoured it in less than 5 minutes. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this recipe with whole wheat flour and Greek yogurt (it was all I had). I had to add a splash of water (due to thickness of Greek yogurt)- maybe 1/4 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I used it to make corn-dog mini-muffins for my kids and it worked great for that. I just put hot dogs in the middle of each mini-muffin. I especially like that the outside crisps up well and isn't too soft. Also, the cornbread is substantial enough that it holds the hot dogs in place. The kids (ages 2, 4, and 6) ate 3 mini-muffins each, so they must be okay. I thought the cornbread was definitely "healthy-tasting" and could use a little more sweetness. I will try a little honey in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. I added 3 cobs of corn kernels and let it bake for an extra few minutes. This recipe has joined my list of those I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Received many compliments and requests for the receipe when I made this for a "chili party"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was pretty good when still warm and when you're eating with a good chili. It got dry quickly after that, so eat fresh! I added a cup of corn too. If I had jalopeno I would have chopped it up and added that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Love it! It is the first time I ever tried cornbread! Love it love it!!! But I did a little change by adding more baking powder, but it turns out to fluffy and taste a little bit bitter. Next time, definitely stick to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My kids gave this a 5 star rating. I'm not a cornbread fan but thought it was delicious. I made alot of changes because I didn't have a few things: yogurt & eggs. I substituted 3/4 of sour cream and 1/4 cup of oil for the yogurt. I also substituted 2T of white vinegar + 2T of water + 2t of baking powder for the 2 eggs called for in the recipe. Believe it or not, this recipe held its on as a base despite these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpraisin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
WOW! This was a winner in our book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made these using suggestions from other reviewers since I'm on a healthy diet: I used all whole wheat flour, Splenda instead of sugar, added 1/4 cup honey, and added 4 oz of applesauce to make it more moist. I couldn't find vanilla yogurt, so I used peach instead! Couldn't taste it in the final result. I also added 1/2 tsp baking powder and reduced the temperature to 375 degrees, and baked it in muffin tins for about 13 minutes. They still turned out a little dry, and not very sweet--kind of bland, actually. But satisfied my cornbread craving certainly, especially for something so healthy! Next time, I'll probably try adding some canned corn and increasing the sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Cornbread was very dry. Keeping the cornbread in the oven for 20 minutes was a bit too long. It was decent for being a low fat recipe. Maybe next time I'll try adding honey and shortening the oven time as other reviews recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States