Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I've been making this since 2004-we prefer it over traditional recipes. I've added green chilis, corn, bacon, cheese, and pretty much anything else that sounds good at the time. I've also made it with 1/2 whole wheat flour. The recipe is a perfect cornbread as is, it's a little heavy with the whole wheat flour, and open to all sorts of experimentation. It's a perfect accompaniment to chili, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These are fabulous! Since I don't use sugar I added 1/4 cup of honey and I used soy flour and vanilla soy yogurt since that's what I had. The batter was dry and I had to add more yogurt. Since they came out so moist we didn't even need any butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This cornbread was one of the best I've ever had. However, I always substituted nonfat vanilla yogurt for the plain yogurt, and it was still very, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-o-wheat-o's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a GREAT healthy recipe! It obviously isn't just like the original, however, it is the next best thing. I added jalepeno's for spice and used applesauce instead of yogurt. I also did half wheat flour and half unbleached flour. FYI: 20 min was too long I would suggest 17. Great recipe for those health nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I was pretty excited about making this and fooling my boyfriend with a "healthy" cornbread recipe, but I must say that I was pretty disappointed. The texture was a little different than cornbread should be - the only thing I did differently was used vanilla yogurt but I can't imagine it affecting the recipe that negatively. It just didn't have that good cornbread flavor that I was looking for. Worth trying out (everyone's tastes are different!), but I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Easy and delicious cornbread recipe; the yogurt gives it a subtle tang. It's wonderful with the batter spread over chili and baked until risen to make a cornbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I have made this recipe several times now and feel that I have finally found what makes it work in our house. My husband is on a low fat diet and that is what prompted us to try this recipe. At first I didnt really like the taste that the yogurt gave it or adding apple sauce to moisten so I changed it to 1c of lowfat buttermilk. Along with using real egg substitute product, the fat in this recipe comes out to 4grams (and thats the whole pan!) We love it now and with honey, it is awesome!!!! I gave it 4 stars only because I needed to make a change to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennett, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Ok, this is not your typical cornbread - but it is a heck of a lot better for you. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I love cornbread, but I'm trying to cutback on fats. this worked out very nicely! There wasn't enough plain yogurt and I substituted lemon yogurt (about 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemon) it was great and added just a little tang. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The best cornbread ever. Not too greasy and not too sweet. Easy to make. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States