Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The best cornbread ever. Not too greasy and not too sweet. Easy to make. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was good enough, it was tough to me, not tender at all. I guess that's what you give up when you give up the fat. My kids didn't like it much, which means it probably won't be on my list to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I thought this was great -- easy, healthy, tasty, and fast! I substituted egg whites for the eggs and some honey for most of the sugar (I had run out of white sugar). I served it with butter and honey with a BBQ chicken salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betherann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I wanted to LOVE this recipe....really, I did. BUT. It was so incredibly dry and it was the first time I have ever HAD to throw a dollop of butter on my cornbread. I did add some applesauce to the batter and I also added a can of chopped jalapenos. Probably won't make this one again, but it was worth a shot. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is now the cornbread recipe I always make. The yogurt gives it fantastic texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Finally a lower calorie cornbread that tastes good! I took it out at 20 minutes and it was pleasantly moist and sweet enough to eat without adding extra honey or butter. I added 2 Tablespoons applesauce to the mixture because it looked a little dry. I couldn’t ask for more from a cornbread with so little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This was very bland. It really had no taste. The texture was great but I really don't find this to be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This cornbread is very good! I love how it is so low in fat. You don't even notice that there is no oil or butter in the recipe. It is great heated up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I've made this twice now, and have been very pleased with it. The only change that I made was substituting half of the white flour with whole wheat, as other reviewers mentioned. The bread has a nice structure and a good corn flavor, and I like that it isn’t cloyingly sweet. It is a little dry, but not so much that I won’t keep making it. I would recommend using a good, stone- or water-ground, organic cornmeal – in a recipe as simple as this, the quality and richer flavor really shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We make this all the time! The family doesn't seem to notice that I use whole wheat flour. These are fantastic drizzled with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States