Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I followed the recipe to a "t" and it turned out flat and tasteless. It needs some baking powder (or soda, whichever one it is that causes it to rise...). I might try this again with some tweaks, but odds are I'll probably just find another recipe. Thanks though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Pretty good. I'm not very familiar with cornbread, so it seemed pretty dry, but a friend told me that's how cornbread's supposed to be. Super easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I didn't think healthy cornbread was possible! This recipe is forgiving with substitutions. I used egg beaters and only whole wheat flour (slightly less than 1 cup). I used homemade yogurt, which tends to have a little more whey than store bought and probably added moisture. I baked for 20 minutes @ 350F. This was moist, and now I wish I had added chopped jalapenos for extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The only reason this didn't rate a 5-star is that it wasn't sweet enough for my taste. I come from the sweet cornbread tradition and 1/4 cup just wasn't quite enough, but that's an easy fix. Other than than, pretty good! Texture and flavor were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a fantastically moist, delicious cornbread with great flavor. I added an additional 2T of honey, used Greek yogurt which is thicker and tastier than usual plain non-fat yogurt and also added 2T of non-fat milk. I will definitely make this again, and try adding chopped chilis or roasted corn next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I thought this tasted very good for a low-fat recipe. Like others, I added a few tbsps of apple sauce to the recipe. But I definitely don't think it was too dry. I cooked it for 17 minutes and I think it could have used a couple more minutes, it was a little wet in the center. I could definitely see this bread being good with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I've been making this since 2004-we prefer it over traditional recipes. I've added green chilis, corn, bacon, cheese, and pretty much anything else that sounds good at the time. I've also made it with 1/2 whole wheat flour. The recipe is a perfect cornbread as is, it's a little heavy with the whole wheat flour, and open to all sorts of experimentation. It's a perfect accompaniment to chili, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These are fabulous! Since I don't use sugar I added 1/4 cup of honey and I used soy flour and vanilla soy yogurt since that's what I had. The batter was dry and I had to add more yogurt. Since they came out so moist we didn't even need any butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This cornbread was one of the best I've ever had. However, I always substituted nonfat vanilla yogurt for the plain yogurt, and it was still very, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-o-wheat-o's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a GREAT healthy recipe! It obviously isn't just like the original, however, it is the next best thing. I added jalepeno's for spice and used applesauce instead of yogurt. I also did half wheat flour and half unbleached flour. FYI: 20 min was too long I would suggest 17. Great recipe for those health nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States