Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I 1 1/2 the recipe to go in a bar pan for quicker baking. Baked at 350 degrees F for 28 min. I used Light Vanilla Yogurt instead for the plain and omitted the sugar. I also added 1/4 cup apple juice concentrate for added moisture and sweetness. I also added sweet corn (1/2 cup) FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I always find cornbread recipes that make dry, bland cornbread, but this recipe is really great. I used 1 cup lowfat vanilla yogurt, and added 1/2 cup frozen corn, and a little fresh thyme. It was moist and sweet and so good! Great accompaniment to turkey chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Saw this recipe today and made it with what I had on hand. I changed the recipe. I used 1 c flour, 1 c cornmeal, 3 tablespoon sugar, 3 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 cup of nonfat vanilla yogurt. The yogurt I used was 6oz of nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt (13 grams of sugar in it) put that in a measuring cup and then added some nonfat vanilla regular yogurt (also this kind has 12 grams of sugar) to complete the 1 cup. (I did this because this was what I had on hand). 2 beaten eggs. 1/2 cup of milk. It was pretty good. Not sweet tasting. If you want more sweetness then add more sugar. It was very moist and good. I'm glad I found this recipe. Another favorite is on allrecipes.com is Golden Sweet Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Excellent, easy to make. I read the reviews first and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I also used whole wheat flour. Turned out great! Made with Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef, also another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Used 1/4 cup honey. Delicious and light. Even tried it once with vanilla yogurt. Made for a sweeter taste. Do not use egg whites as the bread comes out heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Kids and adults liked this at our house. It has a different texture than the more cake-like or dessert-like cornbreads. It is more moist and chewy and we are glad to have a healthier cornbread recipe. We will make this again. It is great with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I didn't miss the oil here, it was tender and quite moist. Usedwholemeal flour too, which added to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great texture and consistency. A little on the dry side, but this is fixed by serving it with honey or apple butter. I used kefir instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have tried so many corn bread recipes that turned out dry, but this one is moist and very good! I used 1 T. sugar and 1/4 cup honey. Sour cream can be used to replace the yogart, although I personally love to use the yogart for the flavor and nutrition. Tastes great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've made this a couple of times now and I like it a lot. Nothing special, just good cornbread. To make it even healthier, egg beaters work well as a substitute for eggs. To add a little kick I mixed in part of a can of diced tomatoes with chilis (this was really good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States