Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent. Used splenda, egg beaters, and the light n fit vanilla yogurt. I added a little squirt of honey but the bread was sweet from the yogurt so not sure what the honey really added. Hubby is a cornbread lover so it's nice to have a healthy alternative. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mopilot
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and both my wife and I claimed it to be the best cornbread we'd EVER had! I followed a couple other suggestions and added a 4oz can of chopped green chilis, used whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of frozen corn. This is fabulous! I added a photo (the one in the red casarole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mopilot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Used whole wheat flour, stone-ground whole-grain cornmeal, and organic whole plain yogurt. Used 1/2 the sugar called for. Tasted fantastic and was perfectly suited for a nutritionally conscious southern girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was amazing ! I didn't have nonfat yogurt so I used regular yogurt, and I had to add a little milk (about 1/4 cup) because the batter was a bit thick. I only used 1/8 cup of sugar because I didn't want a very sweet cornbread, and it turned out great ! It made 13 muffins, not crumbly at all, more on the spongy side, and quite moist. Also great with some grated cheese in the batter. We had them with chili con carne for dinner, and my husband loved them. I never thought a low fat cornbread could taste so good ! Thank you very much for sharing, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the best I have hgad and eay to use for other dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very dense, very good cornbread. I double the salt, add 1 cup of frozen corn, 1 4 oz can of fire-roasted green chiles. Otherwise, it is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I went even farther. I omitted the sugar and baking soda. Of course it didn't rise and was not sweet but it lowered the points for weight watchers. It was absolutely excellent with the Progresso light soup I ate with it. Thank you so much for this recipe! =>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I used "rice drink" instead of milk since I am lactose intolerant. My husband and I thought it turned out very good. I definitely would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This turned out a little odd. I used greek yogurt, so added about 1/4 cup milk. It was still very thick. Cooked at 350 and it was done in 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was looking around for a "healthy" cornbread recipe to serve with my chili for dinner and stumbled upon this...BOY AM I GALD I DID! These really exceeded my expectations. Now, granted, this isn't the greatest cornbread that ever existed, but for it being virtually fat free it was WONDERFUL! I took it a step further and substitiuted egg beaters for the eggs and also added a 4oz. can of chopped green chili's that I lightly drained. After mixing all, I let it set for 3-4 minutes because I was making muffins and I wanted a nice crown when baked. I lined my muffin tin with paper liners and used my large scoop to divide it out (I got 12 muffins). I baked them at 375 degrees for 13 minutes and they came out perfectly. The only thing I will do different next time is to spray my papers before filling because they stuck slightly on the bottom. These were VERY tasty and went well with my healthy chili. I WILL be making these again and may even expierement with some other ingredients/seasonings! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States