Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
not bad for a no oil cornbread. I forgot to add the eggs, but it still came out very good, also used whole wheat flour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
pretty good stuff. i used half all purpose and half whole wheat flour. made a very rustic yummy bread. not sure that it's all that much healthier since it has two eggs instead of the one i use in regular cornbread. plus, is cooking with nonfat plain yogurt healthier than cooking with nonfat milk? i dont know..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: State Line, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used whole grain wheat flour and self rising corn meal mix, plus 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. I sweetened with 1/4 cup of honey. This made it perfect for me. Use 1/2 cup if you like a sweeter cornbread. I baked in a non stick 9x9 square pan sprayed with cooking oil. I used a little over a cup of yogurt (to make sure it was moistened well) the two eggs and baked at 400 degrees as written. PERFECT! It rose, browned, and tasted wonderful. I will never use another recipe other than this one for cornbread again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe looked really good but I think I baked it too long. Plus it didn't really have any flavor so next time I think I'll add some green chilies or some cheese. Maybe its meant not to be eaten on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Good cornbread. I prefer a sweeter cornbread so next time I'll add 1/4 cup honey per other recommendations. I added 1/4 cup milled flax for fiber and healthy fat. Great with jalapeno jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Did I do something wrong? Only thing I did different was I put this in a round pie pan. This was extremely dense and tasteless. Adding butter or honey would not do it any good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was very good and so simple to make. Used 1% instead of nonfat yogurt, because that's what I had and it was delicious. Could add any number of other flavours to it - herbs, grated cheese, garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a keeper! One of the best cornbread recipes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Really good, but I added a bit of fat to make tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was really good!! It was moist & dense, just how we like it; it was the perfect accompaniment to our turkey chili. We did add a touch of honey to the mix, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States