Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Um, are you a nutritionist or a doctor?? Because low fat does not = "healthy." Maybe this recipe should have been titled Excellent and Low Fat Cornbread. Titling something "healthy" when you are ignorant about nutrition is a bad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I actually really like this recipe; the way I made it turned out not so dry at all but very moist and flavorful. I had to alter it a bit after reading the reviews and also because I didn't have all the ingredients. I had only a 6 oz fat free vanilla flavored yogurt so I added on a small container of apple sauce (Mott's all natural) with it. Keep in mind, this is 3.9 oz of apple sauce so total was about 10 oz of flavored "liquid." I also added a tablespoon of maple/agave syrup. For dry ingredients, I used 1/2 tsp salt and switched white sugar for coconut sugar but kept everything else the same. First, I mixed the dry ingredients very, very well. Then I mixed the wet ingredients very, very well but separately. Then I made a hole in the dry ingredients and poured the wet ingredients in, mixing only enough for the dry to get a little wet. ;) This took about 15 seconds total; definitely do not over mix! Then, I spread it in an 8x8 pre-buttered baking dish (batter will be thick) and baked at 385 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes. At the 15 minutes mark, I took it out and brushed a little melted butter/maple syrup mixture on top, put it back into the oven, and BROIL it on high for about 1-2 minutes. Took it out, took a bite, and oh my... it was very moist, lightly sweet, and yummy! I would make this again, exactly as I've done above. Froze the leftovers after they've cooled and now I can just bake a piece in a toaster oven whenever I want cornbread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cornbread definitely tasted healthy. I have been making Golden Sweet Cornbread, on the site, for years. So, I had a comparison. I read the reviews and saw that some people subbed white whole wheat for all-purpose flour, so I did that. A lot of people mentioned it being dense, so I did 1/2 baking soda and 1/2 baking powder for the baking soda amount. I wanted it more sweet than savory, so I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I made 10 muffins instead of a square. I reduced the temp to 375 and baked them for 18 minutes. I measured out 1 tablespoon of honey and brushed the tops of the warm muffins. The slightly crunchy honey coated top was my favorite part. Although, it was not part of the recipe. Despite doing part baking powder, they were still just a little too dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Have made this twice now and love it. I used whole wheat bread flour and baking powder instead of soda and omitted the salt. Like the idea of using honey which I saw some others comment they did, so thinking I will try that in place of white sugar next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
We have never tried cornbread before but this was tasteless and dry. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great alternative and healthy side to soup cooking in the crockpot all day! I added a small spoonful of honey to the batter and everyone had seconds. I consider that a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
so excellent. I baked it in a cast iron frying pan...did use only 5oz of yogurt but put water in the little yogurt cup to get the goodies left over and poured that in..saves money on oil and yogurt. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna4843

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was great for a healthier yogurt version! Obviously, it tastes plain compared to restaurant corn bread that is pretty much desert, but my health is my priority. I blended in frozen corn and served it with butter and honey on the table for others eaters who don't care about eating healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Even though I loved the final result, I changed A LOT about this recipe. I added a can of creamed corn, cut out the sugar, and cut the yogurt by half (and used full-fat). Baked it for 20 mins and it turned out perfectly! Next time I may put a tiny bit more salt in it though. UPDATE: I have officially made this recipe 3 times with different substitutions, including the original version. The creamed corn version I outline above is absolutely the best. The creamed corn makes it so moist and perfect! The full-fat yogurt probably helped too. This is obvious, but the more damp the dough is when you put it in the oven, the less dry it will turn out. The wetter the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States