Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was very dry and lacking in flavor. Nobody even finished one muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out really great! I was cautious as there are no oils in this recipe. But it turned out really good and you can taste the cornmeal in this bread. Will definitely use this recipe in future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great for healthy cornbread, tasted awesome! Great with honey and butter. I would suggest a can of corn, the whole pieces taste great in the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I gave this 3 stars because it's a great basic recipe to work off of, but it is definitely lacking in flavor. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (fyi- I cut the recipe in half so adjust accordingly) and used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of plain. Despite those changes, the cornbread was still fairly bland. I was able to make 5 heaping muffins from the mix. Baked at 400 for 15 minutes. The tops were turning brown so next time I will lower the oven temperature to 375. I found these are best eaten straight from the oven. They took on a rubbery texture once they cooled. I'll be using this recipe in the future and will make sure to add some healthy sweeteners such as Agave Nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were very good for being healthy. It is little drier than I would like but you can't have everything, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Excellent quick and healthy recipe. I tweak mine to my liking, however, in two respects. I add less sugar (despite my Northern tastes, having recently lived in the South, I can no longer bring myself to add much sugar to cornbread). I also add a little more salt if the cornbread is going to be eaten with a savory dish. Also, I use lowfat yogurt, which gives a little more body and moisture to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I had my doubts about this cornbread, but WOW they were really good. I did cheat a bit when I put about a tablespoon of butter in the pan and heated it to melt and grease the pan, then poured the batter in. So they did have some fat, but not nearly as much as I normally use. This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
quick, easy, made it with my homemade yogurt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made these in muffin form. I cooked them for about 22 minutes and next time I will probably only put them in for 17 or so minutes. They turn out really good though. I will also probably substitute honey instead of sugar next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this recipe and prefer it over store bought cornbread mixes. Although something that folks accustomed to the finer texture of boxed mixes, I like the texture that the cornmeal provides. Great right out of the oven with butter and a drizzle of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States