Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I only had plain 2% Greek yogurt on hand and decided to use that. When I mixed everything together it was really dry so I added some milk to make it more like a cornbread consistency. It tasted okay but lacked the sweetness I was looking for. The consistency was like a really, really dense cake and did not crumble like I had hoped. I don't know if it was the Greek yogurt or the recipe but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Excellent cornbread recipe. Very sweet and dense, just like we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe did not work out as well as rated. I made it as the recipe calls for. Maybe better luck next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is great! As others have posted, this bread is not crumbly and airy, but I really enjoy it's denser texture. It's filling without being super heavy; the perfect companion to a bowl of chili. The batter is very thick and "sticky." I thought I had missed an ingredient at first but after double-checking, I used a spatula to get it into my pan and then 20 minutes later, it was done and beautiful! I did add some honey to my batter and cut a bit of the sugar out (personal preference). I also thought that the top was getting too dark so after about 12 minutes, I cut the heat to 350 and finished it on that. I would definitely make this again and recommend it to anyone (for even those not looking for a "healthy" recipe, they won't even know the difference)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe! My husband and I loved this more than regular, higher-fat versions. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I love the texture of this cornbread, it isn't crumbly at all. I do think the people that added a little honey were probably on the smart side, as I wish it had been a little sweeter. Much more moist than I expected! Also, it was awesome right out of the oven, but quite a bit more dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good. To up the health factor I used half whole wheat flour, half white and used honey instead of sugar. It was a little more dense due to the WW flour and the color was a little different but overall we really liked it. I love cornbread but hate how bad it is for you so this is a nice compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
They're dense but really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
With the following substitutions: 1 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp nutmeg 1/4 tsp ground cloves 1 C pumpkin instead of the yogurt 3 egg whites instead of the eggs 1/8 C Stevia instead of the sugar A diabetes friendly, non-dairy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and did not care for this at all. Texture and flavor were disappointing. The Golden Sweet Cornbread on this site is worth the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States