Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Wow! I'm originally from SC so I'm kinda picky about my cornbread...Mama and Granmama were great cornbread makers. I needed to use up some plain yogurt to I tried this recipe. The only changes I made were to use Splenda in place of the sugar plus a tiny squeeze of honey(less than a tablespoon). I also used a little bit(about a tablespoon) of the new "Enova" oil. It was so good and moist, not too sweet and the texture stayed nice for a couple of days afterwards. We liked the leftover chunks split and toasted with a touch of grated sharp cheddar cheese sprinked on then. I am looking forward to making another batch and adding some chopped fresh jalapenos! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
these turned out really well!! i was impressed with their texture and moisture. i used about 2T more yogurt than the recipe called for, and i didn't have any sugar so i used buckwheat honey (about 1/3 to 1/2 cup). the buckwheat honey gave it a rich flavor. really really good... will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The flavor wasn't so great, but that is probably because my cornmeal was on its last leg and I used nonfat vanilla yogurt (and no sugar!) instead of PLAIN. The GREAT news is that, as posted, this recipe only has TWO POINTS per serving for all of you Weight Watchers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I loved the fact that this recipe uses no fat. I had everything on hand that I needed to make this recipe. It was a little bit too sweet for me but that should be easy to adjust. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I liked these (I put them in muffin tins to make little muffins)...they were just a little bit dry (I found) but had a nice taste. I would definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
WOW, I was impressed!! My husband only likes "real" cornbread since he's from GA. I was making Chicken and dressing and needed to make cornbread from scratch. My husband tried to explalin it over the phone, and so much of it seem to be using shortening. So, I silenced him out, and found this recipe :) The only thing I did different was used Vanilla Yogurt bc that's what I had. Now, I don't like "real" cornbread myself and this wasn't too sweet yet, it wasn't dry and blah tasting. I will always use this recipe. Thanks so much~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
The kids loved this! I used whole wheat flour instead of white and the texture was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Great recipie! I wouldn't change a thing. I love the fact that there is no oil, it makes it AlMOST guilt free! This isn't as good the next day, so try to eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This is great bread. Not too sweet and very soft and moist. A good texture. Every one in the family loved it. I replaced the white flour with whole wheat. I recomend doing that. I plan to make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAKATERINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States