Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This cornbread is very good! I love how it is so low in fat. You don't even notice that there is no oil or butter in the recipe. It is great heated up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I've made this twice now, and have been very pleased with it. The only change that I made was substituting half of the white flour with whole wheat, as other reviewers mentioned. The bread has a nice structure and a good corn flavor, and I like that it isn’t cloyingly sweet. It is a little dry, but not so much that I won’t keep making it. I would recommend using a good, stone- or water-ground, organic cornmeal – in a recipe as simple as this, the quality and richer flavor really shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We make this all the time! The family doesn't seem to notice that I use whole wheat flour. These are fantastic drizzled with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I was excited to try a healthier version of my son's favorite "dinner." But, this was a little HEAVY for me. It was okay...but not light and fluffy like we're used to. Good concept, but I'll probably keep searching for a different low fat corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was fantastic. My honey is not a fan of corn bread at all, but he liked this one and said that he would like to have it again. One fortunate accident--I didn't realize that my plain yogurt was actually sweetened (very small letters underneath "Plain Yogurt") but it worked out perfectly, and added the extra sweetness that was mentioned by other reviewers, I think. And for anyone wondering, there was NO yogurt taste at all. (I like yogurt but was wary of how the taste would come through in the bread, and was happy to discover that it did not.) Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Delicious! This was the most popular component in the dinner I made last night! I did make a couple minor alterations, though. I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat flour. Instead of plain yogurt, I used lowfat vanilla. I also added about a cup of (drained and rinsed) whole kernal corn, which definitely added some moisture to the batter. Next time I may throw in some no-sugar-added apple sauce for even more moisture (not that the bread was dry, but I really like mine soft). I am always on the lookout for healthy versions of popular recipes, and this one is absolutely great! I'm definitely keeping it bookmarked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I loved this recipe. I've tried many different ones and none seemed to turn out right, but this one was a hit. I added a can of drained corn so it had a nice texture and everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I usually like any type of cornbread, but this was just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was excellent cornbread. I added about 1/2 cup of applesauce as suggested by another reviewer. Very very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Delicious. I added about a cup of canned, drained whole kernel corn, which adds some moisture to each bite, but is was plenty moist. Feel less guilty about slapping on a bit of butter and honey. Thanks, very good. recipe, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States