Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a good, healthier recipe. I did add 2 Tbsp. honey with the egg and yogurt, plus 1 Tbsp. minced jarred Jalapeno. This made for a moist cornbread with a hint of sweet and heat. The reviewer who mentioned to use the "sweet mix."...DON'T use a corn bread mix. You want corn meal, which is found near the flour at the grocery store. This recipe implies that the baker is adding the other ingredients that the mix would already have in it. This may be why some recipes didn't turn out. I found the recipe to be moist, with a sponge cake consistency, sweet, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly (except I omitted the salt) and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe does exactly what it says, and makes a mildly sweet and healthy cornbread. I don't taste the yogurt at all; I used Dannon yogurt, having found that some of the organic/natural brands of yogurt have different bacterial cultures that may result in a much more pungent flavor. The flavor and texture make it an excellent side dish with chili or similar dishes, as its denser texture will keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really loved this, but then I love almost all cornbread recipes. Like many excellent and healthy recipes, it tastes best fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I read most of the reviews before making this recipe. I used plain lowfat yogurt, and added a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and a little extra baking soda. I also used all whole-wheat flour instead of white, and it came out great! I don't really like too-sweet cornbread, so the 1/4 C of sugar was perfect for this recipe. This was so easy to make...the key to good cornbread is to not overmix or overbake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Delicious! Great taste and texture! I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I have to give this a 4 because I believe reading the reviews paid off. I used 1/2 white, 1/2 wheat flour and upped the leavening agents. (1t soda and 1/2t powder). All in all, it was very good. It rose perfectly and was moist without being soupy. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I followed the recipe to a "t" and it turned out flat and tasteless. It needs some baking powder (or soda, whichever one it is that causes it to rise...). I might try this again with some tweaks, but odds are I'll probably just find another recipe. Thanks though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Pretty good. I'm not very familiar with cornbread, so it seemed pretty dry, but a friend told me that's how cornbread's supposed to be. Super easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I didn't think healthy cornbread was possible! This recipe is forgiving with substitutions. I used egg beaters and only whole wheat flour (slightly less than 1 cup). I used homemade yogurt, which tends to have a little more whey than store bought and probably added moisture. I baked for 20 minutes @ 350F. This was moist, and now I wish I had added chopped jalapenos for extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States