Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a GREAT healthy recipe! It obviously isn't just like the original, however, it is the next best thing. I added jalepeno's for spice and used applesauce instead of yogurt. I also did half wheat flour and half unbleached flour. FYI: 20 min was too long I would suggest 17. Great recipe for those health nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I was pretty excited about making this and fooling my boyfriend with a "healthy" cornbread recipe, but I must say that I was pretty disappointed. The texture was a little different than cornbread should be - the only thing I did differently was used vanilla yogurt but I can't imagine it affecting the recipe that negatively. It just didn't have that good cornbread flavor that I was looking for. Worth trying out (everyone's tastes are different!), but I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Easy and delicious cornbread recipe; the yogurt gives it a subtle tang. It's wonderful with the batter spread over chili and baked until risen to make a cornbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I have made this recipe several times now and feel that I have finally found what makes it work in our house. My husband is on a low fat diet and that is what prompted us to try this recipe. At first I didnt really like the taste that the yogurt gave it or adding apple sauce to moisten so I changed it to 1c of lowfat buttermilk. Along with using real egg substitute product, the fat in this recipe comes out to 4grams (and thats the whole pan!) We love it now and with honey, it is awesome!!!! I gave it 4 stars only because I needed to make a change to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennett, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Ok, this is not your typical cornbread - but it is a heck of a lot better for you. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I love cornbread, but I'm trying to cutback on fats. this worked out very nicely! There wasn't enough plain yogurt and I substituted lemon yogurt (about 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemon) it was great and added just a little tang. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The best cornbread ever. Not too greasy and not too sweet. Easy to make. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was good enough, it was tough to me, not tender at all. I guess that's what you give up when you give up the fat. My kids didn't like it much, which means it probably won't be on my list to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I thought this was great -- easy, healthy, tasty, and fast! I substituted egg whites for the eggs and some honey for most of the sugar (I had run out of white sugar). I served it with butter and honey with a BBQ chicken salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betherann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I wanted to LOVE this recipe....really, I did. BUT. It was so incredibly dry and it was the first time I have ever HAD to throw a dollop of butter on my cornbread. I did add some applesauce to the batter and I also added a can of chopped jalapenos. Probably won't make this one again, but it was worth a shot. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 151-160 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States