Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Excellent, easy to make. I read the reviews first and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I also used whole wheat flour. Turned out great! Made with Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef, also another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Used 1/4 cup honey. Delicious and light. Even tried it once with vanilla yogurt. Made for a sweeter taste. Do not use egg whites as the bread comes out heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Kids and adults liked this at our house. It has a different texture than the more cake-like or dessert-like cornbreads. It is more moist and chewy and we are glad to have a healthier cornbread recipe. We will make this again. It is great with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I didn't miss the oil here, it was tender and quite moist. Usedwholemeal flour too, which added to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great texture and consistency. A little on the dry side, but this is fixed by serving it with honey or apple butter. I used kefir instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have tried so many corn bread recipes that turned out dry, but this one is moist and very good! I used 1 T. sugar and 1/4 cup honey. Sour cream can be used to replace the yogart, although I personally love to use the yogart for the flavor and nutrition. Tastes great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've made this a couple of times now and I like it a lot. Nothing special, just good cornbread. To make it even healthier, egg beaters work well as a substitute for eggs. To add a little kick I mixed in part of a can of diced tomatoes with chilis (this was really good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars due to the changes made to the original version. I added 2 tspn. of baking soda. This healthy recipe is a keeper. I love its sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was pretty good. I made it exactly as written! The yogurt gave it a sour dough flavor. It was perfect with "The Best Ham and Bean Soup" recipe, also from this site. I was looking for a cornbread recipe with simple ingredients that I had on hand. I also wanted it to be dense enough for dipping and this worked out fine! It wasn't too sweet which was what I also wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. I used vanilla flavored yogurt and thought this was a great, healthier version of cornbread. Would make again. It doesn't make as thick of cornbread as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States