Excellent and Healthy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This turned out a little odd. I used greek yogurt, so added about 1/4 cup milk. It was still very thick. Cooked at 350 and it was done in 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was looking around for a "healthy" cornbread recipe to serve with my chili for dinner and stumbled upon this...BOY AM I GALD I DID! These really exceeded my expectations. Now, granted, this isn't the greatest cornbread that ever existed, but for it being virtually fat free it was WONDERFUL! I took it a step further and substitiuted egg beaters for the eggs and also added a 4oz. can of chopped green chili's that I lightly drained. After mixing all, I let it set for 3-4 minutes because I was making muffins and I wanted a nice crown when baked. I lined my muffin tin with paper liners and used my large scoop to divide it out (I got 12 muffins). I baked them at 375 degrees for 13 minutes and they came out perfectly. The only thing I will do different next time is to spray my papers before filling because they stuck slightly on the bottom. These were VERY tasty and went well with my healthy chili. I WILL be making these again and may even expierement with some other ingredients/seasonings! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was pretty good - not as sweet as I'm used to so I think next time I would up the sugar or add some honey. Consistency was great - very moist. I will definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
not bad for a no oil cornbread. I forgot to add the eggs, but it still came out very good, also used whole wheat flour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
pretty good stuff. i used half all purpose and half whole wheat flour. made a very rustic yummy bread. not sure that it's all that much healthier since it has two eggs instead of the one i use in regular cornbread. plus, is cooking with nonfat plain yogurt healthier than cooking with nonfat milk? i dont know..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: State Line, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used whole grain wheat flour and self rising corn meal mix, plus 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. I sweetened with 1/4 cup of honey. This made it perfect for me. Use 1/2 cup if you like a sweeter cornbread. I baked in a non stick 9x9 square pan sprayed with cooking oil. I used a little over a cup of yogurt (to make sure it was moistened well) the two eggs and baked at 400 degrees as written. PERFECT! It rose, browned, and tasted wonderful. I will never use another recipe other than this one for cornbread again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe looked really good but I think I baked it too long. Plus it didn't really have any flavor so next time I think I'll add some green chilies or some cheese. Maybe its meant not to be eaten on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Good cornbread. I prefer a sweeter cornbread so next time I'll add 1/4 cup honey per other recommendations. I added 1/4 cup milled flax for fiber and healthy fat. Great with jalapeno jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Did I do something wrong? Only thing I did different was I put this in a round pie pan. This was extremely dense and tasteless. Adding butter or honey would not do it any good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was very good and so simple to make. Used 1% instead of nonfat yogurt, because that's what I had and it was delicious. Could add any number of other flavours to it - herbs, grated cheese, garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States