Excellent Venison Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I've made this multiple times now and love this recipe. I usually skip the rutabaga and parsnip because I don't normally have these on hand. I add plenty of garlic and ground red pepper flakes for a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Loved it! And the man gives it a thumbs up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have just won a soup competition at a Farmers' Market in Scotland with this great recipe . Used diced haunch, cooked soup for only 1/2 hour then took the meat out and shredded it finely. Used swede and added chopped parsley and chilli flakes. Added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was very good! I pretty much stuck to the basic ingredients with the exception of adding garlic and some crushed red pepper flakes (per another reviewer). I also doubled the water and beef boullion and used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes. I think you could use any variation of root veggies and it would all be good. One thing I did do different from the instructions was to hold back adding the cabbage until it was about 2/3rds done. I was afraid adding it with the other veggies would cause it to be too mushy. It was tender, but still had a slight crispness to it. YUMMM...will be a new staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent soup! I shared the soup with my 2 neighbors, and they said this is the the best soup (bar none) that they have ever had before! Great fall/winter dish in Northern Minnesota. I followed everyone's suggestion. I used 1 pound ground venison and 1 pound Italian sausage. I added 3 cloves of freshly pressed GARLIC, a pinch of PARSLEY FLAKES and a pinch of BASIL FLAKES. I also used FRESH TOMATOES instead of canned tomatoes. I doubled the WATER and BEEF BOUILLON CUBE. I also added a few RED PEPPER FLAKES in the soup to give it a little kick. My kids loved it and they're very picky. My husband was raving about it to our neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great soup if you have a freezer full of elk! I'm not huge on wild game meat, but my husband stocks the freezer every winter. I must say that this does come together very well. I even went back for seconds. I didn't have rutabaga or parsnip on hand, so I left it out. Didn't have the canned tomatoes either so I used the three fresh tomatoes I had and 2 cans of V8 juice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good soup. Thanks for the recipe. My husband got his first deer in quite a few years this Fall and this is the first recipe that I have tried to use it up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
If I were to make this again, I would use 1/2 the meat, double the tomatoes and add frozen green peas at the end. First time I ever had parsnips - they were good and added to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is really tasty! I didn't have ground venison thawed out so I used cubed venison round steak. I had a part of a bag of peas so I tossed those in . This is one of those delicious recipes that you will want to make often. Great comfort food! No leftovers here because we ate it too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe, but if you want to make a truly "excellent" venison soup try making it with venison mixed with hot italian sausage. It's simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States