Excellent Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These are absolutely delicious! I read that some reviewers' cookies were coming apart, so I added 1/8 c extra flour as recommended and I made sure that I rolled the cookies into tight balls before placing on cookie sheet. I also reduced salt by half, due to reviews that the cookies were too salty. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was a big hit with my students. The first batch came out a little too flat, though (not like the picture). I added 1/4 cup more flour and 1/2 cup more oatmeal, and that made them nice and big (still chewy) without being too stiff. I'll certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
These are absolutely delicious cookies. We love cookies that stay soft, and these are perfect. I read the reviews before I made them, and used 2 tablespoons less margarine than called for. They didn't spread flat at all, and the texture is soft and chewy. I baked them on my air bake cookie sheet and it took about 16 minutes. I also chopped up the walnuts real well, and every bite has bits of walnuts in it. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The cookies are tasty, but they took really long to cook at 325 degrees, about 20 minutes. I tried turning up the temperature to 350 degrees the second time around and the cookies baked for about 15 minutes. The texture of the cookies was better that way; still chewy but not too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was a very nice, basic, oatmeal cookie. I am waiting for the second batch to come out of the oven now... It upsets me when people rate recipes that they have made changes to before they have even tried it. If you have made changes, then it is not the same recipe, and you should be submitting a recipe instead of a review. I followed this recipe as it was written, and they are a very nice oatmeal cookie. For those who thought they spread out to much, look at the picture. Mine turned out exactly like that. If you don't want a flat cookie, find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Easy to make and good results. I used some applesause to top off my butter and it worked out well. I don't think it was an overly chewy cookie though as the recipe claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I am always searching for the ultimate cookie recipe that makes a good snack for me. After going through all the reviews of this oatmeal recipe I went to work to create my best cookie ever. Instead of 1 cup of butter I used just 1/2 cup and used pure cane sugar instead of brown sugar with just 3/4 of a cup. I added 2 cups of unbleached flour with 3/4 tsp of baking soda and small amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon. They were easy to mold and came out very shapely with a good chewy texture. I did not add walnuts but I added 1/2 cup of craisins to the recipe which came out very well for the first time making these cookies. I hope to make these oatmeal cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. They do come out flat and take a long time to bake (15-18 minutes), but they are super-tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Good basic recipe, not much different from the others, but very tasty and chewy. The cinnamon adds a good kick. My kids love eating them when they come home from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
These are good, but I bet would be 5 star if I had used real vanilla extract! Its so expensive right now so I bought imitation and will never do so again, it doesnt taste like anything. Anyway,about the cookies-used choc. chips instead of nuts, only 1/2 tsp salt and left out the cinnamon. Scooped 'em with my pampered chef cookie scoop, got exactly 3 doz. they took the whole 12min to cook, didnt flatten out much at all. My husband likes them so this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States