Excellent Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a delicious cookie (the cinnamon is a great addition), but the final product is so soft that it falls apart as you remove it from the baking sheet. It also took 15 minutes to bake and maybe should have baked even longer. I'm not sure what the solution is -- a higher cooking temperature, more flour in the batter, or something else -- but I'd prefer a cookie that comes off the cookie sheet intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I am always searching for the ultimate cookie recipe that makes a good snack for me. After going through all the reviews of this oatmeal recipe I went to work to create my best cookie ever. Instead of 1 cup of butter I used just 1/2 cup and used pure cane sugar instead of brown sugar with just 3/4 of a cup. I added 2 cups of unbleached flour with 3/4 tsp of baking soda and small amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon. They were easy to mold and came out very shapely with a good chewy texture. I did not add walnuts but I added 1/2 cup of craisins to the recipe which came out very well for the first time making these cookies. I hope to make these oatmeal cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Fantastic, A keeper! I added 1/4 teaspoon of Baking Powder after reading reviews that the cookies were flat and they came out perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCREERY2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Added a little more flour which made the cookies puff up more. Then sprayed the bottom of a flat bottom glass and dipped it in sugar to flatten the cookies down. This seemed to cut the cooking time down a little and added a little crystal sugar glaze. I also used lard instead of butter or margarine. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Great cookies! Hard to find a good oatmeal recipe that stays soft & chewy. Omitted the nuts due to allergy, but added 1/2 cup of mini dark chocolate chips. They spread a bit, but nothing unmanagable. This is replacing my current oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Used 1/8 cup more sugar and half the salt and my husband said "Very Good Dear"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Good recipe! My first time making cookies from scratch. I used a little more flour and oatmeal too to give it consistency. I substituted choc chips instead of walnuts cuz I dont really like nuts in my cookies. I cooked half the batch and refridgerated the rest. For those who say these cookies come out flat and fall apart, this is true. I had to bake mine for almost 25 minutes or so. However, I made the refridgerated batch a few days later and they came out even better. I rolled the second batch up into little balls before cooking and they came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States