Excellent Crab Imperial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Perfect a special holiday menu, such as Christmas. I minimized the green pepper. Added minced celery, a dash of worceshire sauce, and a smidgen Old Bay seasoning. They're still talking about it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I found cooking the sherry almost dry and using only 1/2 cup of mayonnaise produced an excellant product. Put under the broiler for a minute to brown nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I live in Virginia where blue crab is a standard. I was very disappointed in this recipe. How you can have Crab Imperial without butter is beyond me, so I added butter. But really I think there are probably much better recipes out there. Crab is delicate and delicous without all the mushrooms, green pepper, etc. I would have liked a little garlic also. Don't waste a good pound of crab on this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Substituted minced celery for green peppers, omitted the mushrooms and doubled the shallots. I could not find gruyere cheese in the grocery store so I just used deli swiss. This was very good only next time I will use less sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was excellent! It tasted like something you would get at a resturant. I am from Maryland and have grown up on Good Maryland crabs. This recipe won't let you down. Will definitly make again! I used jumbo lump crab meat and would highly recomend to use only the best! My husband Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is excellent! Didn't add the mushrooms and only a little bit of green pepper. It was a little runny so next time I will reduce the sherry so there is hardly any left at all. Also didn't have gruyere cheese so had to use sharp/monterey jack mixture. Next time will use the gruyere cause I'm sure it will be so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This was a huge success when I made it for dinner guests recently! It was rich and creamy, and had just the right amount of seasonings that didn't overwhelm the taste of the crab meat. The only changes I made is I didn't use the mushrooms (I never had crab imperial with mushrooms, and my guests don't like them), and I used red bell pepper instead of the green as my guests don't like them either. I used it to stuff lobster tails with, adding the crab half way through the cooking (at 350 degrees), then stuck them under the broiler just long enough to get them golden and bubbly. They're still talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
It was good but we didn't get shallots. The store clerk gave us the wrong thing [green onions], but otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was wonderful. I did make some changes...left out pimiento, g pepper and mushrooms and I doubled the shallots. Also, recipe doesn't say when to add mayo, but I stirred it in at the end. My whole family loved it. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
UMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States