Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The only change I made was I cut the recipe in half and used frozen broccoli. Turned out great. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Mmm mmm good! My husband said this was better than Panera Bread's! And, though modesty forbids, I nonetheless agree. :) The only thing I did was to add about half a cup of finely shredded carrots to the roux in the very first step. Oh, and I scaled this down to six servings, which was entirely adequate for the two of us. What a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
It looks delicious, but I think the nutrition facts about the fat is really incorrect, how could all those fats amounted 18 servings would only be 40% of 1 person 2000 calories diet-if I don't know about the real you want to tell about the nutrition data, just tell me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri Berg
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did not use processed cheese but white sharp cheddar instead. I also added onions and carrots and steamed the vegetables together before adding. By far the creamiest Broccoli Cheddar soup I've made! Thank you All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I've never made soup before especially cream soup. I read thru the reviews and used 1c:3/4 butter/flour roux adding fresh onion but lessened the liquids to 4c broth 4c cream (because I didn't want 18 servings!) then adding broth to thin it out. Another suggestion that worked very well was in lieu of processed cheese (Velveeta) I used softened cream cheese and an additional 2-3 cups of shredded cheddar. I pretty much just kept adding cheddar until it was the color I wanted. Almost 6 cups. We steamed 7c of fresh broccoli because we love broccoli! Next time I'll use 1/2:1/2 for roux. The soup was REALLY thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great! I changed it just like everyone else though. I had to ask my husband to try it because it's his favorite kind of soup and I had never had it so I didn't know what it was supposed to taste like. So I gave him a spoonful and he immediately ate a few more. I told him I thought it was good but didn't know what it was supposed to taste like and he said "it's supposed to taste exactly like that" followed by "that's the best I've ever had". So the recipe changes I made changed the recipe to this: (it made about 9cups) 3 1/2 Tbsp butter 3 1/2 Tbsp flour 1/4 Cup diced onion (added with butter) 2 1/2 cups of boiling water with 3 chicken bouillon cubes 1 Tbsp Italian seasoning 2 1/2 cups skim milk Touch of salt Smidge of pepper 2 1/4 cups broccoli (fresh) 6 oz cream cheese (I don't like American cheese) (cut into cubes) 1 1/4 cup cheddar (I prefer Tillamook medium) (shredded) 1/4 cup mozzarella (shredded) And then I followed the actual cooking directions here, it was great. Even my very very picky son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was really good, but I had to work with what I had for ingredients so I had to tweaked it a little. Instead of using processed cheese, I used Kerrygold Dubline 100% natural cheese, it was the only other cheese I had in the fridge. I also added a little more natural cheese than what the recipe called for to suit my taste. I also added some sea salt and some fresh ground organic black pepper at the table, and yum, this soup really hit the spot!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was very good, I did double the broccoli and I was glad I did. Also added sautéed onions. Next time I will cut back on the cheese just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have never made this kind of soup before...It to me, is Perfect!! I did not do anything differently (besides serving size) My husband and grown children ask me to make this when they are home?! It is nice to be appreciated for a good home cooked meal...for that I thank you:)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Scaled down to 6 servings and sauteed up fresh garlic with the butter and used chicken broth. Had to add more flour to thicken it up and next time will use more broccoli, not too bad at all. Used the immersion blender to break down the broccoli for Mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States