Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was the best broccoli cheese soup we have ever had. Before my husband even finished 1/2 of his first bowl, he said, "I hope you wrote this recipe down." I used only shredded sharp cheddar cheese and I added black pepper. We grow our own broccoli, so the home grown flavor does help. I have already made this three times and will continue to make it. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I have made this recipe twice for crowds and it has been a big hit! I only do 2 things differently. First, I saute an onion in with the butter in the beginning. Also, I have thrown in cubed potatoes with good results. This is a great "cheese soup base" that could be varied many ways-- chicken, carrots, potatoes, Kielbasa, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe will replace the recipe that my mother gave me, for sure. It was so easy! The recipe was just right for our family of 6 with enough leftovers for lunch the next day for everyone. We did add more broccoli and didn't use the processed cheese, just added about a cup more of sharp cheese. My boys ages 10, 8 and 5 loved it. Served with crescent rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was a delicious recipe...MADE CHANGES, but I don't think they were too drastic. The entire family from baby to hubby LOVED it. My changes were: 1) used water and 3-4 Tbsp. chicken base paste (Tone's brand from Sam's -- no MSG)for broth, 2) Omitted salt, but used all that pepper! (Salt to taste before serving), 3) Cornstarch, for thickening: 1/3 cup mixed with a cup of the cold water or broth and brought to the boil in "step 1", 4) Broccoli: I steamed florets and small stems until just tender, then CHOPPED to my liking . I didn't measure, but would use more than two heads next time. 5) Added 3-4 Tbsp. white wine worcestershire. WOW!!!! If you can't find, try a small amount of regular. 6) Used 8 oz of sharp natural cheddar- no processed cheese. More would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This truly is "Excellent!" Followed recipe exactly, but next time I will add more broccoli and will try using just cheddar(more of) and not using the Velveeta. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This recipe is wonderful! Just watch the size of the recipe and scale down if you don't want enough of the stuff to feed an army. Everyone loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This recipe was a hit w/my family and VERY easy to make. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Our family absolutely loved this soup. We made way too much though, so next time we'll change the serving size. A great quick-fix meal and a good way to get the kiddos to eat their broccoli. We add much more than called for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena DeSouza Casari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Great recipe, I used half & half, and heavy cream, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is good except i burned the butter twice and i had bloody eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States