Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent soup! Changes I made were: I sauteed off one large onion, 2 potatoes, 3 carrots and pureed this along with 75% of the broccoli (stems and all) in about 1/3 of the milk/broth mixture. I also added white wine, worchestershire and a few T of dijon. Excellento! And so is the rest of the white wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really liked this soup. I added 1 lb of crispy bacon and doubled the amount of Broccoli. I also added corn starch to make it soup extra thick before letting it simmer for a bit. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This soup is delicious!! It is thick, creamy, and delicious. The only thing I do differently is saute a mirapox (carrots, onion, celery) mix in with the butter before I add the flour! My family can't wait till cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is the best broccoli cheese soup I have ever made. I scaled down the recipe for 4 servings and followed it exactly and it is very good, easy to make and very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fabu! I added more broccoli (eyeballed it to my pleasing) and used only sharp cheddar to taste. I'm in LOVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Just finished making this for my family for dinner! It is by far, the BEST broccoli cheese soup I have ever made! Years ago, as a tween, I came down with mono after a family vacation. My aunt made me the best Broccoli cheese soup ever! I have searched for years now trying to find something even close. This recipe is what I have been in search of!!! Thanks Nathan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irulansmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have to give this three stars because as written it lacks some zip. First of all... I did not think this was thick enough. I like a little bit thick cheese soup. This was very runny and I used less liquid than it called for. Additionally it needed something. I ended up using 2 tablespoons onion flakes and 3-4 garlic cloves finely minced. I ended up only adding 1 cup of regular cheddar cheese and 1 cup of smoked cheddar and 1 cup of smoked gouda. Mind you, I'd used about 2 cups less milk and 2 cups less stock. Chicken stock wasn't quite flavorful enough so I added a bit of Better-Than-Bouillon to pep it up. Lastly, but by far the biggest issue in my eyes... this needs double or triple the amount of broccoli. I used MORE broccoli than it called for and even with the less liquid it was sparse. I added an entire bag of organic mixed vegetables since I had no more broccoli on hand. After I made all those changes this soup was absolutely incredible. Sadly it doesn't even really work as a good base given that it's too runny for our preferences. But it is work-able which is why I gave it the 3 stars. I'll be making my version again and again though as we loved it. It was so tasty that my boyfriend actually asked "Does this have meat in it?" I said no, just smoked cheesed. :) I urge everyone to sub the cheddar with smoked cheese too. On last thing. Don't waste your time trying to shred Velveeta, I sliced it into slices, then cut those into strips and they melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome soup! I've been craving some good broccoli cheddar soup like Panera's - but since I've become vegetarian, I haven't been able to (theirs includes chicken broth). I used this recipe and subbed in Imagine's 'No Chicken' broth instead of the chicken stock. For the processed cheese, I used American Cheese slices, since it was easier to tear up. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My husband and I could eat this for days at a time! I like to add some diced onion, minced garlic, and a few splashes of Worcestershire to the butter before making my roux. This soup is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SyllabaryBisque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States