Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I was given almost exactly this same recipe from a cook at a cafeteria where I loved the soup. His recipe has a couple of minor differences but everyone raves about it. I use 1/2 pepper jack cheese and 1/2 Kraft Deluxe sliced American cheese. The reason is they both melt really well.I also add the broccoli right after the stock and milk start simmering. Cooking the broccoli in the broth flavors the soup and helps thicken it. This is a great base for a yummy loaded potato soup as well. Just leave out the broccoli and add potatoes. When cooked, add the same cheese and top with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
If you can "taste the flour" or it's "too much liquid" then you haven't made your roux correctly.. Make sure the butter is sizzling before adding the flour and be sure you're cooking it long enough. I haven't changed a thing about this recipe and its a winner every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRORACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Easy & fast & great reviews from my family. Converted recipe to serve 8. Fried 3 slices turkey bacon with onions in butter then added flour. This was the only change I made to the recipe and my family loved it! Will definitely make again ... tomorrow night perhaps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good soup with a couple of changes. I sauted sliced onion and garlic in the butter then added cubed potatoes. Cooked that in the broth until the potatoes were almost done. I added the chopped florets and cooked a few minutes more. Added in the milk and brought to a simmer. Off the heat I added about 3 cups shredded sharp cheddar. Garnished the bowls with scallions. Tonight we're having the leftovers with the addition of crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I tend to like a brothy soup and this one is pretty thin as written. If you want it thicker, make adjustments by reducing liquid by at least 25%. I also reduced the amount of processed cheese by 25% and it was delicious. Will use this again. It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Easy to make. Like the roux to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
It's a pretty basic recipe, I highly recommend adding to it. I added bacon garlic and onion and fried them in a pan before adding them to the soup with the milk and chicken stock. I made this instead for two ppl so I put in for 6 so we'd have leftovers, the initial recipe portion is for 18 so be aware. I didn't use processed cheese, good broccoli soup you have to use old cheddar to get the taste through. Also for a roux 2 mins isn't long enough to thicken, i did mine for about 5 mins or until it gets mushy. Roux goes through stages from blonde and crumbly to kinda like a shortbread dough after that it's ready. Mine that way turned out like a chowder it was so thick. Also I used a cup of butter and a cup and a bit of flower, two stocks of broccoli, 3 onion 2 cloves of garlic. Note: it's good to add salt and pepper at the end to taste this way you can adjust it how you like. Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for four since my family is scattered just me and my son this is by far the best brocolli cheddar soup ever thought i would have to freeze but I ended up finishing no leftover .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I cooked the vegetables in the broth and let them simmer for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
LOVED the flavor of this soup...especially the next day. The only reason I am docking a star is because the amount of brocolli the recipe calls for is WAY too low. I bought a bunch, measured out what the recipe called for, cooked it, added it to the soup....and it dissappeared....so I cooked the rest of the bunch and put it in. It was better, but I still ended up with about 4 bowls worth of soup base left over after we'd eaten all the brocolli. Next time I will probably quadruple the amount it calls for. Still...a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Find out how to make the soup from your favorite cafe right in your own kitchen.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States