Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My son made this soup twice, it was out of this world, he added 1 thin (mandolin) sliced potatoe in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Spurlock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I am blessed with a husband who love to eat and appreciates delicious food. He really enjoyed this soup and complimented it several times. I also enjoyed this soup and will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this recipe was good although I had to add garlic and a bit more salt as it was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
i luv soup..and it was good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not thick, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe using 3 servings which called for 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of broth. Skipped the 2 cup of broth and the processed cheese, only used milk and cheddar. It made a creamy and yummy soup that everyone loved; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
OMG! Phenomenal. Did not and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for the first time today. I made a few changes, partly due to lack of ingredients and partly for preference. The butter and flour was per the recipe, but I had only 8 cups of chicken stock, so I balanced that with 8 cups whole milk. Instead of white pepper I used 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less - I didn't measure) and about the same in freshly ground black pepper. I didn't measure the broccoli, but I'm guessing it was closer to 6 cups, and just the tops and none of the stems. I cooked the flour and butter for 3-4 minutes, then added the stock, milk, salt and pepper. I brought that to a boil, took it down to a simmer for maybe 7 or 8 minutes, then added the broccoli and let it cook in the soup. I was trying for a smoother soup, so I scooped the broccoli out and into my Ninja food processor and pulsed it a few times until it was mostly smooth. (I would have used my immersion blender if I was able to find it, but I made do with what I had on hand.) The broccoli was still a little al dente, so it wasn't smooth like baby food. I put that back into the soup, then added 1 lb of Velveeta (it was all I had) and increased the sharp cheddar to 5 cups, then stirred until it was all melted and heated through. I'm not a soup fan, not by a long shot, but even I like this. I really liked how simple it was as far as ingredients and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used real cheese and real cream othere than that change it was sooo sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I saute onion and grated carrot in the butter. Then I add the chicken stock and broccoli florets and cook until the broccoli it's tender. I then take my immersion blender and blend it up. I then take a cup of flour and two cups of milk and whisk until smooth. I then add it to the soup stirring to make sure there are no lumps. I then add the cheddar cheese and stir until incorporated. I have had nothing but raves. The carrot is really important because it gives the soup a nice sweetness. I left them out once and the soup wasn't nearly as good. I guess the only thing I did differently is add carrots and onions. Salt and pepper to taste as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madlyn Cole

Displaying results 41-50 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States