Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I am blessed with a husband who love to eat and appreciates delicious food. He really enjoyed this soup and complimented it several times. I also enjoyed this soup and will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this recipe was good although I had to add garlic and a bit more salt as it was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
i luv soup..and it was good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not thick, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe using 3 servings which called for 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of broth. Skipped the 2 cup of broth and the processed cheese, only used milk and cheddar. It made a creamy and yummy soup that everyone loved; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
OMG! Phenomenal. Did not and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for the first time today. I made a few changes, partly due to lack of ingredients and partly for preference. The butter and flour was per the recipe, but I had only 8 cups of chicken stock, so I balanced that with 8 cups whole milk. Instead of white pepper I used 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less - I didn't measure) and about the same in freshly ground black pepper. I didn't measure the broccoli, but I'm guessing it was closer to 6 cups, and just the tops and none of the stems. I cooked the flour and butter for 3-4 minutes, then added the stock, milk, salt and pepper. I brought that to a boil, took it down to a simmer for maybe 7 or 8 minutes, then added the broccoli and let it cook in the soup. I was trying for a smoother soup, so I scooped the broccoli out and into my Ninja food processor and pulsed it a few times until it was mostly smooth. (I would have used my immersion blender if I was able to find it, but I made do with what I had on hand.) The broccoli was still a little al dente, so it wasn't smooth like baby food. I put that back into the soup, then added 1 lb of Velveeta (it was all I had) and increased the sharp cheddar to 5 cups, then stirred until it was all melted and heated through. I'm not a soup fan, not by a long shot, but even I like this. I really liked how simple it was as far as ingredients and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used real cheese and real cream othere than that change it was sooo sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I saute onion and grated carrot in the butter. Then I add the chicken stock and broccoli florets and cook until the broccoli it's tender. I then take my immersion blender and blend it up. I then take a cup of flour and two cups of milk and whisk until smooth. I then add it to the soup stirring to make sure there are no lumps. I then add the cheddar cheese and stir until incorporated. I have had nothing but raves. The carrot is really important because it gives the soup a nice sweetness. I left them out once and the soup wasn't nearly as good. I guess the only thing I did differently is add carrots and onions. Salt and pepper to taste as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madlyn Cole
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I was given almost exactly this same recipe from a cook at a cafeteria where I loved the soup. His recipe has a couple of minor differences but everyone raves about it. I use 1/2 pepper jack cheese and 1/2 Kraft Deluxe sliced American cheese. The reason is they both melt really well.I also add the broccoli right after the stock and milk start simmering. Cooking the broccoli in the broth flavors the soup and helps thicken it. This is a great base for a yummy loaded potato soup as well. Just leave out the broccoli and add potatoes. When cooked, add the same cheese and top with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States