Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Changes I made were few with adding a small chopped onion to the butter as one reviewer suggested, halved the recipe except for the broccoli and still came out with a LOT of soup. Heavy on the white pepper and used 1 lb of grated extra old cheddar instead of the processed cheese. Excellent soup. Adding to my regular soup rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe. My family ate this soup for supper and I did not hear any complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome! Best broccoli cheese soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made my best broccoli cheese soup ever using this recipe ... with a few tweaks. Like others, I like my soup thicker and richer. I increased the butter and flour, making substantially more roux for added thickness. Also, instead of milk I used light cream. I had colby jack on hand and used that instead of regular cheddar, along with the processed cheese the recipe calls for. I've sworn off meat, so used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth. Also, like other reviewers, I doubled the broccoli. That sounds like a lot of changes, but mostly I was just adjusting the relative amounts of the various ingredients. This is an outstanding recipe, producing the tastiest broccoli cheese I've ever had. Try this ... you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Love the taste. I was one of the people who added twice the amount of broccoli. I did make one BIG mistake, though. Whatever you do, don't boil the soup after you've added the cheese. My soup now has a "grainy" texture. Other than that, it's got a delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by givmeabr8k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I cut the milk and broth down to 8 cups each cut the processed cheese to 1 pound, and added finely diced sauteed onion to the flour/butter rue. The flavor was fantastic! Really restaurant quality flavor, but very thin. I like my cheesy broccoli soup to be thicker. I simmered for much, much longer time AND cooled and reheated later....still too thin. I will definitely be using this recipe again...just with more rue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was wonderful! My family has a soup exchange once a month & this was my March contribution. It got rave reviews. As one other person did - I also sautéed an onion in butter and added to soup. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I thought this recipe was good. But I like my soups more chunky and cheesy, so I added twice as much broccoli and about another two cups of sharp cheddar. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Peet Rowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve4nLanguage
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made it exactly according to the recipe (scaled down to 4 servings), except... 1. I used a fresh cheddar/white cheese mixture without any processed cheese, 2. I added half a teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My son made this soup twice, it was out of this world, he added 1 thin (mandolin) sliced potatoe in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Spurlock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States