Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Steve4nLanguage
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made it exactly according to the recipe (scaled down to 4 servings), except... 1. I used a fresh cheddar/white cheese mixture without any processed cheese, 2. I added half a teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My son made this soup twice, it was out of this world, he added 1 thin (mandolin) sliced potatoe in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I am blessed with a husband who love to eat and appreciates delicious food. He really enjoyed this soup and complimented it several times. I also enjoyed this soup and will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this recipe was good although I had to add garlic and a bit more salt as it was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
i luv soup..and it was good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not thick, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe using 3 servings which called for 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of broth. Skipped the 2 cup of broth and the processed cheese, only used milk and cheddar. It made a creamy and yummy soup that everyone loved; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
OMG! Phenomenal. Did not and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for the first time today. I made a few changes, partly due to lack of ingredients and partly for preference. The butter and flour was per the recipe, but I had only 8 cups of chicken stock, so I balanced that with 8 cups whole milk. Instead of white pepper I used 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper (more or less - I didn't measure) and about the same in freshly ground black pepper. I didn't measure the broccoli, but I'm guessing it was closer to 6 cups, and just the tops and none of the stems. I cooked the flour and butter for 3-4 minutes, then added the stock, milk, salt and pepper. I brought that to a boil, took it down to a simmer for maybe 7 or 8 minutes, then added the broccoli and let it cook in the soup. I was trying for a smoother soup, so I scooped the broccoli out and into my Ninja food processor and pulsed it a few times until it was mostly smooth. (I would have used my immersion blender if I was able to find it, but I made do with what I had on hand.) The broccoli was still a little al dente, so it wasn't smooth like baby food. I put that back into the soup, then added 1 lb of Velveeta (it was all I had) and increased the sharp cheddar to 5 cups, then stirred until it was all melted and heated through. I'm not a soup fan, not by a long shot, but even I like this. I really liked how simple it was as far as ingredients and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used real cheese and real cream othere than that change it was sooo sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States