Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This soup has a very good flavor. I made a couple changes though. First, like many reviewers I omitted the processed cheese and increased the regular cheese to around three cups(for 1/3 recipe size). One problem I had with the soup is that it is white with green broccoli in it. I took about 1-2 cups of the soup and put it in the blender with 1/2 cup thawed spinach. Then added it back to the soup along with the cheese. This made the soup have a great color and didn't really change the taste. Next time I would also increase the flour by about 1 tablespoon(for a third of the recipe). It was a little thin. Other than that I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this last night for dinner. We thought it was really good. The only modifications made were adding a bit of fat free half n half as part of the liquid total. We also sprinkled on a bit of thai chili powder on top for extra zing. This is a keeper. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Cole Ashman McEntee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My family loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except before adding the broccoli to the dish i chopped it up. I also served it in soup bowls, it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe! I will definately make this again and again. My husband wants me to add "This dish is KILLER"! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Good recipe basic recipe.. my husband liked it, but said for his taste he would like me to doctor it up next time... will add crumbled bacon or ham chunks. I also added the cheese at the very end of the cook time so it wouldn't get lumpy.. it came out very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Hi, this is my recipe. I just wanted to say that if you want to make this thicker you can just use 1 cup of butter (2 sticks) and 1 cup of flour. Or even 1 1/4 cups butter and 1 1/4 cups flour, just keep increasing it in equal proportions until you get the thickness you want. Also, I don't really like this or any broccoli cheese soup that's made entirely with cheddar cheese. I like the taste of Velveeta and it melts very smoothly. If you don't like Velveeta just use all cheddar. Or any other cheese that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
this was EXCELLENT! I just wish it could of been a little thicker,,i just couldn't get it to the consistancy I wanted..it was GREAT with worch. sauce and definitely add more brocolli,,,over all YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kruise's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this for myself and my roommates. We all loved it. I made some changes, because I'm allergic to onions & garlic ( obviously I omitted them). But I added boiled potatoes (peeled and diced); bacon bits; instead of processed cheese I used three pounds of shredded cheese (Munster, Swiss, and Montery Jack). The potatoes and bacon made it a bit thicker for the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIESMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have made this soup many times and I always add wide egg noodles to this recipe. It gives it a little more body and thickness. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I thought this soup tasted OK, but my husband did NOT like it. I think it was because of the processed cheese (if he didn't know it was in there he might have liked it). I probably won't make this again, but would recommend scaling up the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a good recipe, but makes sooooooo much soup! More than a family's worth and we're only 2 people! My husband doesn't like broccoli but this soup turned him around on that. It's a good base recipe to tweak on my further attempts at making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Damascus, Syria
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States