Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this soup today for an activity with our residents. I put all the ingredients in a crock pot early in the morning and cooked it on high all day. The only thing I did different was I put all the broccoli in a microwave bowl and cooked it for about 7 minutes to give it a head start. I also had to decrease the chicken broth to 8 cups and the milk to 7 cups, mainly because the crock pot was full to the top. EVERYONE loved this soup! It was gone in about 1/2 hour. This is definetly a make again for us! Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Made 6 servings... I didn't have chicken stock so I used chicken broth instead. When heating the butter, I sauteed minced garlic and onion in it prior to adding the flour. I also added twice the broccoli that the recipe called for and used 1 lb of Velveeta rather than 1/2 lb. It was very flavorful but a little runnier than I anticipated. Perhaps the stock would have made it thicker - I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
We cooked this recipe this afternoon for lunch - scaling it down to six servings. We used Velveeta for the processed cheese, fresh brocolli, and nothing special for the rest. It was very easy to prep and cook this dish, but I have one suggestions though - based on our experience cooking it... Next time I fix this I will add more brocolli, probably double what the recipe recommended. The taste was great - a good mix of cheesiness, pepper, and other flavors. Certainly the best brocooli and cheese soup any of us had tasted (six servings fed to five adults). Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Delicious & easy. I zapped fresh broccoli in the microwave and processed it in my small countertop food processor to a slight chunk. Gave the soup a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Okay, This is the very first recipe I have tried on this site. I loved it, my kids devoured it and my husband(who claims to not be a soup fan. . .ate two bowls). I was surprised that it was so easy. I made it the original way this time, but next time I would go for a low sodium stock to have more control over the salt in the dish. Mine came out just a little salty for my taste. Thank you for sharing this recipe, it will live forever in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Laurinburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I added much more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
this soup was awesome...I cut the recipe by half and didnt use any of the white pepper at all...I did however, use more brocolli than called for and a little more cheese...I also made some rice and put in it as well...I think next time I will add some julienned carrots to the milk/stock portion ...its a definite remake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Mmmm. This is a good soup! I reduced the servings to 6 and added 2 1/2 cups of cooked rice to make it a little more filling. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I followed recipe exactly. It was good but I would definately add about three times more broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I only made a couple changes. 1.) I didn't have white pepper so I used black. 2.) I used Swanson Chicken Broth for the chicken stock... here's the catch. Half of it was regular chicken broth and the other was the garlic Roasted Garlic chicken broth. I think that was my secret to such a wonderful bowl of soup! 3.) I didn't boil the broccoli sperately. After I put the broth in, I threw in the broccoli with it. It's a waste of a pot to boil it seperately and there is really no point. This was the best recipe I found for Broccoli Cheese Soup! Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States