Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I used steamed broccoli (with butter) instead of frozen- Boy does this make a difference!!! My hubby was digging out most of the broccoli for himself... :) and its just as good reheated. **I'm doubling the amount of steamed brocolli in the future.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
excellent! so cheesy and yummy!!! thank you!!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is an excellent soup!! My daughter is a vegetarian so I simply use water instead of chicken broth. I also use a little more cheddar/a little less process cheese. I break in half and cook about a forth of a package of thin spaghetti noodles and add it to the soup after it is done. It is quick, easy, versatile, hearty, and very very tasty. The leftovers taste even better the next day. (You might have to stir in a little bit of water to the leftovers as this soup does tend to thicken up a bit in the refrigerator.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I scaled it down just in case we didn't like it. It was great! I used just shredded cheddar cheese (3 cups) and it got a little 'chunky'. But I think I read somewhere that if you toss the cheese with just a Tbsp or 2 of flour, it'll keep it from getting chunky when it melts. I'll try that next time. But the flavor was really good - a lot like restaurant versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
After reading all the reviews I was excited to try this recipe. I followed it exactly and it wasn't good. Nobody in my family would eat it. It did not have a very cheesy taste, but you could really taste the flour. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Outstanding! As we were eating this, my husband kept saying "this is really good" I used Kraft's cheddar flavored slices instead of shredded process cheese. Also added more shredded cheddar tha the recipe called for. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This soup has a very good flavor. I made a couple changes though. First, like many reviewers I omitted the processed cheese and increased the regular cheese to around three cups(for 1/3 recipe size). One problem I had with the soup is that it is white with green broccoli in it. I took about 1-2 cups of the soup and put it in the blender with 1/2 cup thawed spinach. Then added it back to the soup along with the cheese. This made the soup have a great color and didn't really change the taste. Next time I would also increase the flour by about 1 tablespoon(for a third of the recipe). It was a little thin. Other than that I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this last night for dinner. We thought it was really good. The only modifications made were adding a bit of fat free half n half as part of the liquid total. We also sprinkled on a bit of thai chili powder on top for extra zing. This is a keeper. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My family loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except before adding the broccoli to the dish i chopped it up. I also served it in soup bowls, it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe! I will definately make this again and again. My husband wants me to add "This dish is KILLER"! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Good recipe basic recipe.. my husband liked it, but said for his taste he would like me to doctor it up next time... will add crumbled bacon or ham chunks. I also added the cheese at the very end of the cook time so it wouldn't get lumpy.. it came out very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States