Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it exactly after scaling it down & doubling the broccoli because I like a lot of broccoli. The only thing I might possibly change next time is using something to thicken it up a little bit. I like cheese-based soups just a little thicker. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This turned out great. I used half and half instead of milk, fat free cheese and corn starch to thicken. It was the best recipie for cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
i tweaked this a little by adding 3 med. sized carrots and blanched them with my broccoli. i also added 1/2 of a med sized white onion to the milk/broth mix before it boiled and some nutmeg. after that had boiled i put half of my blanched veggies and half of the milk/broth/onion mix and blended it in the blender. i though that it made the soup a little "meater"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made several alterations to this, but it was seriously the best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Our family loves this recipe! As the recipe is written, it tastes a bit more like cheese soup with broccoli added to it. Our whole family likes broccoli, so we typically add more than it calls for. So if you're truly looking for a broccoli tasting soup, you can use about double the broccoli that it calls for, and not have too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I'm not sure why, but mine came out much much thinner than I was anticipating, which was a bit disappointing. In an effort to up the amount broccoli per other reviewers, I over-broccoli-ed the soup, which detracted from it a bit. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I'll not use so much broccoli and try to make it a bit thicker. Great start for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I had to go buy a larger pot to make this for my family it's so great!! When making it in my standard 6 qt. dutch oven (making 12 servings) it would disappear so fast! This is a fabulous base for any cheese soup. As a broccoli soup it is wonderful so we decided to use the base for and try a potato soup and that turned out amazing as well. Tonight we made it as potato soup and used 1 cup of margarine and 1 cup of flour. We then use 7 cups of chicken stock and 7 cups of milk, 2 lbs of velveeta and 8 cups of shredded mild cheddar then added steamed potatoes, sautéd onions and some shredded carrots. We always add more broccoli than it calls for when we make the broccoli soup and we like the broccoli stems chopped pretty fine. I really can't rave about this enough as it is a huge hit with my whole family. I'm thinking of trying it next time with cauliflower! I'll let you know how it turns out but I'm sure it will be great too. Also just to let you know we only lightly salt the veggies when we steam them then only use about 1/4 to a 1/2 of tsp of salt or it can get too salty but I do increase the pepper just a bit. If you haven't tried this yet please do. You'll be so happy you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I used steamed broccoli (with butter) instead of frozen- Boy does this make a difference!!! My hubby was digging out most of the broccoli for himself... :) and its just as good reheated. **I'm doubling the amount of steamed brocolli in the future.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
excellent! so cheesy and yummy!!! thank you!!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is an excellent soup!! My daughter is a vegetarian so I simply use water instead of chicken broth. I also use a little more cheddar/a little less process cheese. I break in half and cook about a forth of a package of thin spaghetti noodles and add it to the soup after it is done. It is quick, easy, versatile, hearty, and very very tasty. The leftovers taste even better the next day. (You might have to stir in a little bit of water to the leftovers as this soup does tend to thicken up a bit in the refrigerator.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States