Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this soup for a church supper and got raves!! It is soooooo good! I was surprised that is wasn't thicker, like other raters have said. Next time I might try making it a bit thicker. But it was so tasty. I used a bag of broccoli from Costco, and left the pieces rather large. I got mixed reviews about that. Of course, the one who doesn't like broccoli said the pieces were too big. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very very good. Thickened it with the corn starch and used all regular cheese, no processed. Easy to make and my kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I loved this soup. I found it very easy to make,and quite delicious!! I scaled it down to feed 6 and it worked out well for the 3 of us.(I kinda figured they would want more then one bowl)I will certainly make this again, but next time I'll add more broccoli. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Pretty good, but I was hoping for a thicker and creamier soup. Also, I think the scale should be adjusted - there is not enough broccoli for the amount of broth. I think what I'm looking for is more of a traditional cream of broccoli soup, but thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it exactly after scaling it down & doubling the broccoli because I like a lot of broccoli. The only thing I might possibly change next time is using something to thicken it up a little bit. I like cheese-based soups just a little thicker. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolehall711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This turned out great. I used half and half instead of milk, fat free cheese and corn starch to thicken. It was the best recipie for cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
i tweaked this a little by adding 3 med. sized carrots and blanched them with my broccoli. i also added 1/2 of a med sized white onion to the milk/broth mix before it boiled and some nutmeg. after that had boiled i put half of my blanched veggies and half of the milk/broth/onion mix and blended it in the blender. i though that it made the soup a little "meater"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made several alterations to this, but it was seriously the best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Our family loves this recipe! As the recipe is written, it tastes a bit more like cheese soup with broccoli added to it. Our whole family likes broccoli, so we typically add more than it calls for. So if you're truly looking for a broccoli tasting soup, you can use about double the broccoli that it calls for, and not have too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I'm not sure why, but mine came out much much thinner than I was anticipating, which was a bit disappointing. In an effort to up the amount broccoli per other reviewers, I over-broccoli-ed the soup, which detracted from it a bit. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I'll not use so much broccoli and try to make it a bit thicker. Great start for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States