Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Great Recipe! This will be a nice base that I will remember. I scaled it down to serve 8 and put a potato and a shredded carrot in the broccoli water first and boiled until almost tender than added the broccoli. Also cooked up 1/2 onion with some minced garlic and threw that in also. Also omitted the processed cheese altogether and just threw a 12 oz bag shredded cheddar. Next time I'll probably put more of all the veggies and maybe a little less cheese. Mine turned out plenty cheesy. This is a great base to get creative with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was a fabulous base soup, and VERY easy to make! I added a few ingredients to make it a complete meal for my family: approx 3 cups cooked, diced chicken breast and 1 bag medium egg noodles, cooked. My family loved it! I think I may cut down a bit on the cheese next time, as 1 1/2 lbs made it plenty cheesy. Will definitely add this to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Best Broccoli Cheese Soup, scaled recipe to 8 sevings and added more Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Whoa...My expectations were high when I found this recipe. First of all, this is way too much liquid unless you plan to drink the soup from a straw. I started with 7 cups of chicken stock and 7 cups of milk, and I could have used 6 of each. Also, I started with 5 cups of broccoli and then added another 5 cups. If I would have had more, I would have added it. I also added more cheese and thickened with cornstarch and water.... I will search for another Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is the yummiest broccoli soup ever! The taste is very well-balanced and it got me some great compliments last night. My mother in law even asked for the recipe! The best part: It's very easy to make. I made just a couple modifications: I added almost twice the broccoli that it asks for and sauteed the chopped up pieces in butter and just a little water, then drained the water out. I also added a tablespoon of corn starch for thickness (I had scaled the recipe to 6 servings!). Also, next time I'm going to try adding the flour after I've added in the chicken stock so it doesn't form lumps. Great recipe - you've got to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I used skim milk and cut down on the cheese. Also added a large chopped onion to the butter for more flavor. Next time I will add 2 onions for even more flavor. I added 4 chopped red potatoes and 2 cups of frozen chopped spinach to make it more of a hearty dinner soup. My husband and I loved it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I converted the recipe to 4 servings and it worked out perfectly. I used a steamer to cook the broccoli and added a carrot as another reviewer suggested. I used my Bamix mixer to blend everything together for a smoother consistency. Finally, I made some buttered croutons out of cheese bread as a garnish. Wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA JAYNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
While this soup tastes excellent and my tastebuds are thrilled, I'm still rating this recipe one star in protest. It has three fundamental flaws. First off, it makes a ginormous amount of soup. More than you can cook in a very large pot. I believe in family size, but this is ridiculous. I knew 18 cups of liquid sounded like a lot, but my lack of cup/spatial recognition now means I'll be having this soup for a month. The top broccoli soup recipe should not be one for a party, it should use proportions that normal families need. I'm also dinging this recipe for the processed cheese. Call me a food snob if you want, but I don't want to live in a world where Velvetta tastes better than real cheese. I have to imagine that there is an alternative with real cheese that tastes so much better. Finally, this recipe is getting a one star shaft because it's way off on how much broccoli you'll need. You can easily double or triple the amount and be fine. I'd also recommend chopping the broccoli into small pieces vs. using the unchopped crown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davis Freeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Love this soup!! But I add double to triple the amount of broccoli. Very easy to make and it turns out fantastic every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Tasty! I had to make a few changes, but this was a good base. I made about 1/3 of the recipe. I added a small finely diced onion to roux. For my liquid, I used 4 cups homemade veggie stock, 1 cup milk, and 1 cup heavy cream that I had on hand and wanted to use up. I used extra broccoli, no proccessed cheese, and extra cheddar. I also blended most of it to make it creamy. I ended up needing more pepper than suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States