Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Love this soup!! But I add double to triple the amount of broccoli. Very easy to make and it turns out fantastic every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Tasty! I had to make a few changes, but this was a good base. I made about 1/3 of the recipe. I added a small finely diced onion to roux. For my liquid, I used 4 cups homemade veggie stock, 1 cup milk, and 1 cup heavy cream that I had on hand and wanted to use up. I used extra broccoli, no proccessed cheese, and extra cheddar. I also blended most of it to make it creamy. I ended up needing more pepper than suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very tasty. I used all cheddar and added onion and garlic to the roux. Wished it was a bit creamier/ thicker in texture. I blended the whole thing and like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Terrific recipe! I made it tonight for supper and both of my fussy boys really enjoyed it. My hubby had 2 large bowls! I will keep this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the best broccoli cheese soup I have ever had but I did add 1/4 of a chopped onion to the butter. I also added a package of frozen broccoli florets to the fresh because it didn't seem like it was going to be enough. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This soup is wonderful!!! My family now asks for it all the time! In the middle of my sister in law's labor, she was begging me to bring this soup to her after her baby was born. I do use a little more broccoli than is recommended, about 2 heads of broccoli total. Ill never make another broccoli cheese soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Loved this recipe. I've been pining for years over not having a Panera in Utah, now I don't know if this tastes the same, but it tastes so good, that I no longer care about Panera. Anyhow, I halved the recipe, since we're a small family. But, I put the roux at 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp of each butter and flour. I also used 1 cup of heavy cream,(and I thought the thickness was fine) since I had it and wouldn't use it for anything else. Left out the salt and pepper and put in garlic salt instead... personal tastes there. I surprised that my husband loved it as much as he did. I didn't think he'd be a fan of broccoli cheese soup in general but he LOVED this! YEA! Does anyone know if this freezes well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This soup was very good and easy to prepare, but I recommend adding more broccoli and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used extra sharp cheddar to taste instead of velveeta and it was so good! If you hold off on salt until the end, you can tailor the saltiness of the soup. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Good soup. I can't say it's the best because I haven't tried every recipe, but it is very good. I will probably tweak it here and there, but it's an excellent start. My previous recipe was watery, washed out looking, and very time-consuming. This has better texture and color, and is much easier to fix. And it tastes better as well! Many here advise adding more broccoli, and I agree. The only change I made was doubling the amount of roux. My biggest gripe about the other recipe was it was too thin. I have learned that adding cheese doesn't thicken the soup at all. If it's too thin before you put in the cheese, it'll be too thin after. Overall, an excellent soup that will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States