Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
From initially reading the recipe I felt it needed a few tweaks. I sauted an onion and several cloves of garlic in olive oil. I used fresh broccoli and also fresh spinach, steaming both of them seperately. I kept them par steamed as they cook when added to the stock. I reduced the stock, using 6 cups of water with 'Better than Bouillon' vegatable stock and 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cups of milk. I used sharp chedder and Swiss cheese. It's tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This was perfect! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious! Needed to split the recipe in half, since it's only me and my husband, but it still worked out great. I added extra broccoli, some carrots and onion, and that's just because I love veggies in soup. The best thing about this soup is that it's creamy without being overly heavy. That is, while it's definitely a filling soup, it isn't so heavy that I feel weighed down and like I need a nap after a small cup size serving. Even though this is the kind of soup where a little goes a long way, it's tasty and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was my first time making a broccoli soup. My family loved it, which includes an 8 year old. It was even better reheated the next day. I used fresh broccoli and doubled it to make it less brothy. The cheese sauce was good, but next time I will try a cheese other than processed American, maybe Velveeta. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I added red and white potatoes, celery and carrots to this an it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't thick enough for me, i think if we would cut back I the broth and milk by two or three cups it would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent thick soup! I used fresh broccoli & cauliflower. I didnt measure but think i used about 5 cups. I added a chopped shallot cooked in the butter before adding the flour. I also added a pinch of thyme & nutmeg & used half velveeta & half extra sharp cheddar. Wow! Hubby loves it & will definitely make this soup again. I made for 12 people & froze the leftovers so i got 3-4 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I brought the recipe down to feed 9. I used 4 and a half cups of broth,steamed the brocolli with butter but changed two things. Instead of 4 cups of milk I used 3 and 1 cup of sour cream and 1/2 of heavy cream, this added thickness without losing flavor. I've made it many times before and it was a bit to loose. This addition really made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I blended half of the broccoli and added it back to the soup, than the whole pieces. My family loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The only change I made was I cut the recipe in half and used frozen broccoli. Turned out great. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States