Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this to put on our pork tacos tonight but neither Hubs nor I could keep our mitts off it, surprising since I had asked him how he liked it and he shrugged his shoulders and said, “Not really,” but then kept right on eating it. And eating it. And eating it. Actions do speaker louder than words. I cut the cilantro in half and that was plenty for our tastes. I added some minced garlic but outside of that I left all else the same. Delicious…and obviously addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was really good and fresh. The only problem I do have lately, is that I can't find HOT peppers. Even my serranos that I purchased from Super Walmart were not even spicy. What the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Spot on. I use 2 or 3 peppers, depending on size. My husband loves this with tortilla chips. We also use as topping on tacos, burritos, soups, well I guess many things, but I especially love to mash avocados & mix this in for fresh guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a KEEPER!!! We cook Chicken Fajita's at least once a week and I make this with it every time. I follow the recipe as written, make sure to let it sit in the fridge for a while to marinate the flavors. It is great on chips and inside the fajita wraps with chicken. Yummy!!! Any leftovers (which there usually isn't I use them the next day on an omlet for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betty Dickson
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have made my own salsa for years but never stopped to figure out the amounts, just added this and that and if there was too much this I added that to make it the right blend. Your amounts were right on. I need the recipe because I have had people ask me for mine and couldn't give them anything more than the ingredients and tell them to figure it out. Now I have it, thanks. I use sweet onion in mine. I also crush the cilantro and roll it in my palms then dice it fine before adding it. It helps distribute the flavor and make it less intense in a single bite. I also use about three medium sized green jalapenos mainly for aesthetics as the green is pleasing to the eye with the red of the tomato. I like the flavor of key lime when I can find good fresh ones though that often doesn't happen in Oregon. I use four to five. I don't marinate but am probably going to try that if I make it the same day as I will use it, usually try to make the salsa a day before for the best flavor distribution though sometimes decided on the dinner plan the day of. Also have my special ingredient that I add last after checking the spiciness. Tiger Sauce! My all time favorite hot sauce. It just add a very special flavor. I am careful about how much I add depending on who is going to eat it. Kids and some adults prefer it on a milder side so I often split mine and then spice only part of it up for the more daring side of the crowd. I also do like to add some crushed garlic, about a half teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I did improvise a bit because I wasn't prepared with all the ingredients. I didn't have enough tomatoes so I threw in a can of blended stewed tomatoes. I didn't have a red onion so I used a white onion and 2 minced garlic cloves. My family doesn't like things spicy so I just used a half a jalepeno with the seeds removed. Even with all that improvising it came out wonderfully! Can't wait to try the recipe again, the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Wonderful...used it with the chipolte shrimp taco recipe. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Amazing...and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very Good! My kids dont like it chopped or chunky so I blended to a salsa but the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa's Fab Kitchen online

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My husband and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States