Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresca (Pico de Gallo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Wonderful flavor, but I agree with the other reviewers that a few cloves of garlic would bump this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
First time I made pico de gallo- loved it! perfect ratios, the only thing I did different was use white onion because I love a strong onion flavour. Everyone loved it at our Canada Day party. :) Fresh, healthy and most importantly, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
OMG, loved it!! Changed just a couple of things: tomatoes just 2 cups; rinsed onions in colander after chopping but before the lime, to take out some of that extra pungency; drained about 75-80% of liquid before serving (was very liquidy). Yum!! And completely agree that soaking in the lime juice really does make a huge difference! Kudos to your ex girlfriend's Mom - she rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Quite tasty. Because we had no fresh tomatoes, we used a can of Muir Glen organic fire roasted diced, well drained. Added garlic and did not use a whole teaspoon salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
great recipe! proportions were nice. i like mine heavy on the cilantro, so i added a little extra. we've already made this three times since finding the recipe only a month ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really great! My 12-yr-old daughter couldn't stop eating it. I made this to go with the grilled fish tacos on this site. Next time I think I will use a sweet onion instead of red. I think the red onion is a little strong and competes with the flavor instead of complementing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
YUM! This is prolly the BEST pico I've ever had, yet alone made!!! Most pico's are almost bitter tasting because they call for waaay too much lime juice. This was near spot on! And, I think bioteacher is right.... Briefly marinating your onion / jalapeno mixture first is key. It allows the pungent onion to mellow out a bit. I also agree that hand-chopping your veggies is worth the extra effort. Paying careful attention to the chopping directions (i.e. finely chopping, dicing, etc.) is imperative - for example, finely chopping your onion and jalapeno pepper. Large chunks of both would overpower everything else. In addition to bioteacher's tips, I have a few to share myself. Both my hubs and I agree that this is MUCH better when served at ROOM temperature. I additionally feel (my hubs disagrees) that this is best when served FRESH. I didn't care for this nearly as much the second day. All in all, this is a great find on here and a definite keeper in my book! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe with the AR community, thebioteacher! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I really love this salsa. I just can't get enough of it! The only change I made was to add a diced yellow/orange pepper and it's amazing. The lime juice flavour is addictive and it goes great with my favourite blue corn chips. I like to make it when we have friends over for bbq's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Made this today to go with Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos and it was absolutely delicious!!! All 5 of my children enjoyed it and my husband raved~between bites! Great receipe as is~ thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
10 stars !!! So yummy, could not get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States